1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

cannot ping default gateway on LAN

Discussion in 'Networking' started by hope_rbf, Mar 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hope_rbf

    hope_rbf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Ping fails;

    AOL can get to the Internet, so I am deducing the LAN is up and working. The PC with the default gateway ip address is the only PC of 3 on LAN with a Verizon wireless usb modem.

    But Internet Explorer cannot get to the Internet.

    And I cannot ping the ip address of the default gateway.

    If I ask Windows Network Diagnostics to try to figure out what's wrong, the log says:
    WinSock status
    Error attmpting to validate the Winsock base providers: 2
    Not all base service provider entries coudl be found in the winsock catalog. A reset it needed.
    Redirecting user to support call

    Network Adapter Diagnostic
    Using home Internet connection
    Network connection: Name=Local Area Connection, Device=Inter(R) PRO/1000
    PM Network Connection, Media Type=LAN, SubMedia Type=LAN
    Network Connection: Name=NationalAccess - BroadbandAccess on xxxxx (name of lan),
    Device=NationalAccess - BroadbandAccess on xxxxx, Media Type=SHARED
    ACCESS HOST RAS, SubMedia Type = NONE
    Ethernet connection selected
    Network connection status: Connected

    lots of warnings
    Error 12029 connecting to .... A connection with the server could not be established.

    I have done the following and restarted and it makes no difference:

    netsh int ip reset reset.log
    netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the machine in order to complete the reset.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. hope_rbf

    hope_rbf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : COMPUTER1
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : mshome.net

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : mshome.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/1000 PM Network Connect
    ion
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-76-DB-C7-5B
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.118
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, March 16, 2008 6:00:47 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, March 23, 2008 6:00:47 PM

    PPP adapter {A63AF4C4-90F2-4A4F-8108-41C05F8865A6}:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-53-45-00-00-00
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.166.117.222
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 205.188.146.145
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  4. Wanderer2

    Wanderer2

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,428
    What is up with the ppp adapter?

    If you disable this interface does everything work correctly?
     
  5. hope_rbf

    hope_rbf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    You have to consider my experience level - just enough to be dangerous.

    I do not know what a ppp adapter is.

    I do not know how to disable it.

    I do not know how to save it in case I need to restore it after I disable it.

    I googled ppp and learned it is a peer-to-peer protocol. I can't know where it came from; could it have been added by McAfee Easy Network?
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,555
    "... the only PC of 3 on LAN with a Verizon wireless usb modem."

    Huh? That and your ipconfig /all makes me think that you might be connected via ethernet to a router and by USB to a modem. If so, why--what are you trying to accomplish?

    If not, then I echo Wanderer2's "What is up with the ppp adapter?". Are you using AOL to set up PPP on the connection to the router instead of setting up the router's WAN to connect to AOL?

    What is the brand and model of the "Verizon wireless usb modem"?

    Of course, given that you apparently have broadband why suffer with AOL anyhow???
     
  7. hope_rbf

    hope_rbf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Back to my original post - I cannot ping the Internet gateway PC - therefore Internet Explorer is not functioning (see details of network diagnostic log).

    That is why I am suffering with AOL -- no other reason. AOL is using a "broadband connection" through the PC with the wireless modem. (not using any dial-up connection)

    I know the hardware is all fine, because AOL can get through.

    I installed the USB modem on my PC, but the other PC got "more bars", so it's now installed on that computer. The USB modem software is still installed on my PC; I tried de-installing it but had a problem with that too.

    To my limited knowledge, there is no router in the building.

    Yes, we have an ethernet LAN, connecting three PC's and a high-speed copier/printer.

    The third PC is successfully using IE - that PC's ipconfig does NOT have the ppp adapter. I printed them both and compared them.

    So, if you can tell me how to disable the ppp adapter safely, and how to restore it if need be, I am willing to try (remember, I know just enough to be really dangerous).

    However, if it requires updating the registry, I'm going to get some assistance from someobdy who knows what they're doing.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,555
    I think we need you to describe your entire network. Brand and model of each modem, switch, hub or router, how those devices and your computers are interconnected (by USB, ethernet, Wi-Fi, etc.).

    If there is no router, where/what is the Dhcp server with LAN address 192.168.0.1?

    What kind of broadband service do you have (DSL, cable, fiber, etc.)?
     
  9. Wanderer2

    Wanderer2

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,428
    To disable the interface you right mouse click on My Network Places and go to properties. You will see two [or even three] interfaces like Local Area Connection, PPP [stands for point to point protocol] and perhaps 1394 [firewire interface].

    Right mouse click on a interface and one of the choices is disable. Same right mouse click on the disabled interface gives you an enable choice to enable the interface.

    It would be helpful if you could describe how and what everything connects to. Also post ipconfig pages from all pcs.
     
  10. hope_rbf

    hope_rbf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    I'm not at that PC right now, but... (from my memory)

    There is a LAN configured
    There is a 1394 configured
    When I'm on AOL, an Internet Gateway shows up as another Network Connection. I think it says "broadband"

    I see no icon labeled PPP. I won't be back at that PC until 3/20.

    I believe you are on the right track -- the Network Connections on the third PC (gets to the Internet the same way my PC does) looks the same; however, the ipconfig/all on the third PC does NOT have the ppp adapter.

    Thanks,
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    The PPP adapter could mean that there was a DSL service installed at some time in the past. It doesn't necessarily mean it's active. I've seen those on a number of systems posted here that worked fine.
     
  12. hope_rbf

    hope_rbf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    This was really too simple a solution.

    We have McAfee Firewall installed. Sometime, somehow, the IP address of my PC was changed. The two PC's in our LAN have been explicitly trusted on the Internet Gateway PC.

    All I had to do was update the IP adress for my PC.
     
  13. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    You should simply trust the whole private IP range, since with dynamic addressing, the IP address can change.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/692882