1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot reach Google and Yahoo search does not work properly...

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by sportsfreak, Oct 5, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sportsfreak

    sportsfreak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    I recently got infected by a Trojan Qhost virus. Using the symantec removal tool, I managed to remove the virus from my computer. However, I am having difficulties accessing search engines such as google.com or searching with Yahoo. With the directions of some people here in this site, I managed to get rid of some of the junk in my computer. Yet, I still cannot access the google website. Please help!!! Here's my Hijackthis log:

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
    Scan saved at 7:02:32 PM, on 10/4/2003
    Platform: Windows 2000 (WinNT 5.00.2195)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINNT\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Program Files\NavNT\defwatch.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\NavNT\rtvscan.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\regsvc.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\MSTask.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\WBEM\WinMgmt.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\mspmspsv.exe
    C:\WINNT\Explorer.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\MsgSys.EXE
    C:\Program Files\NavNT\vptray.exe
    C:\DOCUME~1\DAVIDM~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\HijackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {A5366673-E8CA-11D3-9CD9-0090271D075B} - C:\PROGRA~1\FLASHGET\jccatch.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: FlashGet Bar - {E0E899AB-F487-11D5-8D29-0050BA6940E3} - C:\PROGRA~1\FLASHGET\fgiebar.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINNT\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Synchronization Manager] mobsync.exe /logon
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE NvQTwk,NvCplDaemon initialize
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [vptray] C:\Program Files\NavNT\vptray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroCheck] C:\WINNT\system32\NeroCheck.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Download All by FlashGet - C:\Program Files\FlashGet\jc_all.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Download using FlashGet - C:\Program Files\FlashGet\jc_link.htm
    O9 - Extra button: FlashGet (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &FlashGet (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?37846.5983564815
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://active.macromedia.com/flash2/cabs/swflash.cab
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,196
    First Name:
    Derek
  3. hawkeye

    hawkeye

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    183
    I have tried to download FixQhost.exe and it gives me an illegal operations error. I am running Norton SystemWorks pro 2002 and I can't even do a full systems scan. It gets about 80-90% and gives me the same illegal operation error. I have no idea what to do next. Anyone who can give me some help it would be greatly appreciated. I am running windows 98se
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/169621

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice