1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot restore .A Drive is locked where windows is installed

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Deb9, Sep 19, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Deb9

Deb9 Thread Starter

I have an Asus sonicmaster laptop running Windows 8, I am trying to do a clean restore. When I press the power button the first page comes up then im left with a black page.
    I press F9 I can get into advanced settings , press reset pc and I get a message saying :- unable to reset your Pc. A required drive partition is missing

Thank you for all help...

2. Tabvla

Tabvla

Welcome to the TSG Forums.... :D

What is the source of your "clean restore" ? A partition on the Hard Disk? Or... and external USB connected drive? Or.... DVD's or other media?

T.

3. Deb9

Deb9 Thread Starter

Windows 8 must be installed somewhere on laptop...the only pages I can get to are F2 and F9 I guess on the hard disc as there is no disc drive on this laptop.
    Hope you understand this.
    Thankyou

Last edited: Oct 2, 2015
  4. Tabvla

Tabvla

Most computer manufacturers (including Asus) set up a "Recovery Partition" when they install Windows 8/8.1. That might sound simple enough, but in practice it is often more complicated than that. For example, a typical setup might divide the Hard Disk into as many as 6 Partitions. These might be named something like - EFI System Partition; OEM Partition; Recovery Partition #1; Recovery Partition #2; System Partition W8 OS. A common practice is that only the System Partition will have an ID - usually C: drive. The other partitions commonly have no ID and are therefore not normally visible to the User.