1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot Run EXE files

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by PWayne, Jun 22, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. PWayne

    PWayne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Greetings and thanks for your help in advance.

    I am not able to run exe files. I found the instructions below on MS to edit the registry. No issue on the HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.exe as it was already set to exefile. My issue is that I don't see the HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\exefile in the registry. What should I do at this point? Thanks again.

    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.exe
    With .exe selected, right-click (Default) and click Modify…
    Change the Value data: to exefile
    Browse to and then click on the following registry key:

    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\exefile
    With exefileselected, right-click (Default) and click Modify…
    Change the Value data: to "%1" %*
    Browse to and then click on the following registry key:

    KEY_CLASSES_ROOT\exefile\shell\open
    With openselected, right-click (Default) and click Modify…
    Change the Value data: to "%1" %*
    Close the Registry Editor and restart your PC
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    • Download exefix utility from >Here< and save to Desktop.
    • Double-click the file to run it.
    • This utility fixes the exefile association in the registry automatically.

    Restart the PC.
     
  3. PWayne

    PWayne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Can download, but can't run that either.
     
  4. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
  5. PWayne

    PWayne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Ok, merge worked. Reboot?
     
  6. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Yep Restart the PC and Hope:)
     
  7. PWayne

    PWayne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Good to go! Thanks
     
  8. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Nice ....but why did they have problems...something you did or more likely a infection of some sort...so do some scans with your Anti Virus program and the free Malwarebytes.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1058154