cannot run exe files

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sim_guy_1

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
3
i am having a huge problem just about all of my programs will not open the exe files aren't working. i don't think it's a virus i think i accidently messe dit up. Is there a way to get them working again? Can anyone help me?? I am running windows ME.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
896
If you know when this occurred you can give system restore a try. Start, programs, accessories, system tools, system restore
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,103
Make sure to select a restore date prior to when the problem started.

Also, see if this helps:

----------------------------------------------------------------
ARE YOU HAVING DIFFICULTY WITH GETTING "EXE" FILES TO ACTIVATE?

Click Start - Run, type in REGEDIT, then click OK.

Click the + in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE - Software - Classes - Exefile - Shell - Open.

Click directly on the Command folder to expose its entries in the right pane. Make sure that Default is set to "%1" %*
If it has a different value, right-click it, then click Modify.

Change the value to "%1" %*(quote, percent, number one, quote, single space, percent, asterisk), then click OK.

Close the registry, then reboot your computer.
----------------------------------------------------------------
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
5
that may be close to what i need, when i looked, exefile was right but when i checked .exe, for default it said value not set, is that my problem?
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,103
The change has to be made to "Default" in the Command folder in the Open folder. Don't get confused and change it in the wrong folder. Click the + in Open, then click directly on Command to expose its entries in the right pane. If "Default" is other than what I stated above, change it.
 

sim_guy_1

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
3
Tahnks for your help but none of what you said worked for me but i found a file called "Fix EXE Association" on the net and it worked. sadly i don't remember where i got it from. but i had to rename regedit.exe to regedit.com and then change it back. then i had to open the fix file with the registry editor and it fixed them.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top