1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot run windows safety scanner msert.exe

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by d1940, May 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. d1940

    d1940 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium , Service Pack 2, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2330 @ 1.60GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 13
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 2037 Mb
    Graphics Card: Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family, 448 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 108968 MB, Free - 32921 MB; E: Total - 1397 MB, Free - 1053 MB;
    Motherboard: Intel Corporation, SANTA ROSA CRB, Not Applicable, Not Applicable
    Antivirus: avast! antivirus 4.8.1229 [VPS 081124-0], Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled

    details The application has failed to start because its side-by-side configuration is incorrect. Please see the application event log for more



    Error 5/1/2011 5:54:26 PM SideBySide 59 None

    Log Name: Application
    Source: SideBySide
    Date: 5/1/2011 5:54:26 PM
    Event ID: 59
    Task Category: None
    Level: Error
    Keywords: Classic
    User: N/A
    Computer: dave-PC
    Description:
    Activation context generation failed for "C:\Downloads\Software\msert.exe".Error in manifest or policy file "C:\Downloads\Software\msert.exe" on line 0. Invalid Xml syntax.
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="SideBySide" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="49409">59</EventID>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>0</Task>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2011-05-01T21:54:26.000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>124170</EventRecordID>
    <Channel>Application</Channel>
    <Computer>dave-PC</Computer>
    <Security />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>C:\Downloads\Software\msert.exe</Data>


    Any help would be appreciated
     
  2. Byteman

    Byteman Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,727
    Are you using Firefox or another browser when you try downloading the safety tool?

    Try Internet Explorer if you were.

    Can I ask why you have not updated Avast to the newer version? My Avast Free edition is 6.0
     
  3. d1940

    d1940 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    I was using IE for the download. I just clicked Avast Icon and it says 6.0.1.091
     
  4. Byteman

    Byteman Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,727
    I'm curious why there is a difference about the info the sysinfo tool reports for Avast mine compared to yours......so I am also including a screen shot of my "About Avast" window..../.could you do the same?

    Mine does not report the 6.0 version....

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 3 Stepping 4
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 2038 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) 82915G Express Chipset Family, 128 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 76253 MB, Free - 49755 MB;
    Motherboard: Dell Inc. , 0M3918, , ..CN7082148J04UL.
    Antivirus: avast! Antivirus, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
     

    Attached Files:

  5. d1940

    d1940 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    I do not know how to copy the About Avast info. Nothing came up when I tried to highlight to copy.
     
  6. Byteman

    Byteman Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,727
    I posted a screenshot, as a way of showing what Avast has for the version. You get Avast window with that info on your screen, and press the "Print Screen" key of your keyboard once.

    Then, go to All Programs> Paint and when it's window opens, in the white blank space right click and select "Paste" which willl copy and paste the picture there. Just hit "File- Save As" at the top of Paint's window save the file as a .png or .jpg picture file somewhere like in My Pictures.....

    Close up Paint. Open a Reply to your thread here. Write what you want to write, and below that, find "Manage Attachments" link and click it..... in the small window that opens, select "Browse" find the picture you just created and click "Open" then click on the Upload button.......when it's filename is showing it is finished and you can Close up the attachments window and click on "Submit" to send in your posting to this thread.
     
  7. d1940

    d1940 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    I have a Toshiba Satellite. Next to the f12 key is a key marked prtsc on top and sysro on bottom. I tried several times and when I right click on white section in paint program no window open to click paste on. It appears nothing is happening when I push prtsc key.

    The version that is shown is 6.0.1091
     
  8. d1940

    d1940 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    I went to help and found out I had to click edit.
     
  9. d1940

    d1940 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Try again
     

    Attached Files:

  10. d1940

    d1940 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Byteman or others

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  11. d1940

    d1940 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    to the top
     
  12. d1940

    d1940 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    If any of you know of a site that might help, please point me to them.
     
  13. d1940

    d1940 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    To the top
     
  14. d1940

    d1940 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    75
  15. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    What exactly is the problem you're having? msert.exe appears to be Microsoft Safety Scanner. You downloaded it and saved it to C:\Downloads\Software. I assume you're seeing this error trying to run it. Delete it and re-download it.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/994501