1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

cannot save passwords, etc...>

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by reeltime, Jan 3, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. reeltime

    reeltime Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    I cannot save passwords...I mean i select to save them, and they are not saved. Also notice frequently used email addresses, for example, are not recalled like they used to be when type in first few letters...Cookie problem?? Help appreciated.
     
  2. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    I assume you mean the passwords like the one you need to login at Tech Support Guy and other boards?

    First, go to Tools/Internet Options/autocomplete, and make sure the checkmarks are there.

    There should also be one at 'Prompt me to save passwords', or they will not be retained.

    If no joy, we'll get to the cookies.

    Good luck,
     
  3. reeltime

    reeltime Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    can't find autocomplete... you mean internet options>advanced. i did go there and looked over boxes. cannot find "prompt me to save passwords". Java logging is not enabled. I don't know what that means, if related at all.
     
  4. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    No, I mean Internet Options/Content tab, and then click Autocomplete.

    Then you see this:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. reeltime

    reeltime Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    Ok...found it, and "prompt me to save passwords" was not checked. I did check it and tested, and still not saving passwords. Shouldn't need to reboot for this to take effect, or should I? please note that I was coached to alter .pwl files? so there may be a problem there. I cannot recall how to go back to original settings to see if checking the "prompt me to save passwords" was the problem in the first place. Thank for assist.
     
  6. reeltime

    reeltime Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    Ok Tony. I found what I tried a while back to fix this. I changed .pwl files to whever.old file name. Do I need to address this? part of problem? Thanks again.
     
  7. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    PWL files have nothing to do with this.

    They are important if we're talking Logon, Network, or dial-up password.

    If your only problem is autocomplete while logging in at sites like this one, you're at the right place.

    Make sure you've got your Passwords and user names backed up.

    Go back to Autocomplete, and click Clear Forms, and Clear Passwords in order to empty the cache.

    Make sure the check marks are there, click OK, close Internet Options, and close Internet Explorer.

    Start IE up again, and log in at a site filling out User name and password manually.
    Log out and now try logging in again.

    Do you get your password offered now?

    Incidentally, this doesn't have anything to do with cookies either, unless you fail to log in at sites automatically, without needing to fill out passwords manually.
     
  8. reeltime

    reeltime Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    No. deleted cache...passwords still not "remembered". All boxes checked. Checked box to remember passwords when prompted to username and password...Wonder what else could be?
     
  9. reeltime

    reeltime Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    any further ideas?
     
  10. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Not really, I'm afraid.

    I have the feeling we may be overlooking the obvious.

    Or maybe not...:rolleyes:

    Hopefully someone else will come along soon with some fresh ideas.
     
  11. reeltime

    reeltime Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    thanks for assist. I will double check what we tried...
     
  12. Luthorcrow

    Luthorcrow

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    335
    Did you ever find a solution to this problem? I am running Wk2 w/SP3 and IE 6 with all the latest patches. Tried all of the steps mentioned and even tried reseting the browers back to default settings. But no change.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/64056

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice