1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot set pictures as desktop background

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by dougglos, May 14, 2018.

Advertisement
  1. dougglos

    dougglos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    800
    I have saved quite a few pictures of some of the famous places in the world, and until recently I have used some of them to change the background on my desktop. But now, clicking on a picture to "Set as Desktop Background" has absolutely no effect. It does give me a fair number of plain coloured backgrounds, but that is obviously not what I'm looking for! Any ideas would be appreciated.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    14,794
    First Name:
    David
    Try right clicking the background and then "Personalize"
    Then in the drop down select "Slideshow"
    Then Browse to the folder that you wish to use.
     
  4. dougglos

    dougglos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    800
    Have followed your advice as far as "Slideshow", but pressing "Browse" does nothing for me. The pictures I saved (as mentioned) are all showing in "My PC/Documents" and if I click on one, it fills the screen, but clicking on "Set as Desktop Background" has absolutely no effect, I'm afraid!
     
  5. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    14,794
    First Name:
    David
    These are the settings I have and they work, see the attachment.
    The "Trees" folder is a subfolder under Pictures.

    Is there any images in the Documents folder, the images should be in the Pictures" folder which is under Documents.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. dougglos

    dougglos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    800
    I have exactly the same as your attachment, but as I said, pressing Browse has no effect, whereas I have about thirty pictures are all available under "Documents". The only problem is that none of them will allow me to set them as a desktop background. That is to say nothing happens when I try to do so.
     
  7. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    14,794
    First Name:
    David
    Then move them to the Pictures folder or a subfolder under Pictures.
    I think that the documents folder is normally not used for images, the system settings does not think that images should not be there.
     
  8. dougglos

    dougglos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    800
    No joy, I'm afraid - I moved a few pictures from "My Documents" to the "Pictures" folder easily enough, but clicking on "Set as Desktop Background" still has no effect whatsoever!, and I am still left with a plain coloured background.
     
  9. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    14,794
    First Name:
    David
    Did you select the Picture folder or is it still Documents?
     
  10. dougglos

    dougglos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    800
    I used "This PC/Pictures" and although the thumbnail pictures appear there, they still do not successfully set as desktop items when I click on that phrase.
     
  11. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    14,794
    First Name:
    David
    Post a screen shot of your settings?
     
  12. dougglos

    dougglos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    800
    Sorry - wouldn't know how to do that - could you please give me all the stages so that I can?
     
  13. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    14,794
    First Name:
    David
  14. dougglos

    dougglos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    800
    Thanks for that - but which settings am I looking for to take a screenshot of?
     
  15. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    14,794
    First Name:
    David
    As shown in Post #4 above that shows my settings.
    Post the same pane of your machine?
     
  16. dougglos

    dougglos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    800
    upload_2018-5-18_17-21-32.png

    Hope this is what you need !!
     
  17. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1210211

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice