Cannot start windows 98 ......

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ChachRice

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
35
Any help would be greatly appreciated. My girlfriend borrowed my computer and I beleive accidnenty deleted a n importatnt device file. I try to start Windows 98 the following page appears:

"Cannot find a device file that may be needed to run Windows or a Windows appliation.

The windows registry or SYSTEM.INI file refers to this device file, but the device no longer exists.

If you deleted this file on purpose, try uninstalling the associated application using its uninstall or setup program.

If you stil wnat to use the application associated with this device fie, try reinstaing that application to replace the missing file.

C:\WINDOWS\system\VMM32\ifsmgr.VXD
Press a key to continue"

I press a key and it loops the message. After doing this about three times it takes me to a screne which tells me I have insuffucient memory to open Windows.

I have tried a few things but I must admit that my computer knowledge is very low, especialy without windows.

I would love to get my computer back to its working order, but in the very least I need to retrieve some documents from my hard drive before I do any sort of overhaul. thanks
 

ChachRice

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
35
PVC thanks for the welcome. I am not very familiar with DOS but I am a good listener and learner. I went to your suggested link, and followed its directions. Not sure where to put the second part of this command

Add the following lines at the top of the file:

[boot]
mouse.drv=mouse.drv
drivers=mmsystem.dll

Add the following line in the [386Enh] section of the file:

[386Enh]
mouse=*vmouse


I do not know where to find the [386Enh] section of the file. Should I just type it under the [boot] section?

thanks
 

ChachRice

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
35
I went ahead and completed the command with [Enh386] under boot. it came back with this "HIMEM.SYS is missing. Make sure that the file is in your Windows directory. "

Not sure what that means. Anyway to correct? Should I just reinstall?
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2002
Messages
6,427
I guess a re-install is the better option. It wont take much time anyway...so just re-install Windows over the current installation.

See if that helps.
 

ChachRice

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
35
I hate to say it but I do not have any of the installation disks. What I do have is a boot disk I downloaded from the internet. Can I use this disk? If so I do I run and install over my old windows and do it from dos?
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2002
Messages
6,427
Well we cant do a lot with just the bootdisk. So back to troubleshooting these errors one-by-one. Check this link -

Himem.sys missing or corrupt

BTW, when did this start? If this started recently...1,2,3 days back you can try a registry restore, that could help.

Tap F8 constantly when the system starts. This would start a bootmenu and from the menu select the Command Prompt option which would start the computer in the Command Prompt.

Once at the C:\> prompt type -

scanreg /restore [enter]

Select the date prior to the problems' starting!
 

ChachRice

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
35
The problem is a few months old, unfortunately. I have neglicted it until now. I tried the scanreg/restore, using a date when the computer was in operation but it did not work. But I will keep that in mind.

I will check out the link. But I wonder if I have a problem with my memory. I downloaded a tester from www.simtester.com and did a few burn-in loops and came up with only positive results.
 

ChachRice

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
35
I was not able to boot. when I tried to run windows from dos the follow reply

HIMEM.SYS is missing.
Make sure that the file is in your Windows directory.

Not sure how to check that.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
1,592
There is a chance Windows is in the cab files, However I am not sure how you access them from dos, but I bet someone here does!
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2000
Messages
8,994
Hi ChachRice,

If it will start in safe mode,
See if the cabs are on the hardrive,
if not i'll tell you how to check for
them in dos.
 

ChachRice

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
35
It will not start in Safe Mode. I only have dos. How do I access the Cab? Thanks
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2000
Messages
8,994
Hi,
Do you have the 'New Mail Notification'
activated in 'Sounds' in Control Panel ?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top