cannot update windows XP (home )

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

timothye

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2004
Messages
743
hello .
on my mothers computer ( Administrator= mom ) i cannot update windows . from windowsupdate.com i reach the site start the search for updates and then it displays the updates and then i click the button to start the process and it starts to download the updates then just shows * FAILED * .
i have run all the programs .
AVG anti virus
spyblaster
spybot search & destroy
ad aware
x-cleaner
microtrends Anti virus
HJT

all returned & PASSED with flying colors .
so i went to msn and did the verify ( windows genuine advantage ) verification just to see if she has done it . so we passed the test ,Its valid so no problem there ..
this is a dell machine >Dimension 5000< only a few months old, 3 at tops . she doesnt even use the net much . its a machine for picture editing .
any ideas why we cannot get the updates ..

also 1 time when i was on this machine surfing . this dell window poped up and showed something about updates , like it has over ridden Windows automatic updates . but i cannot find it anywhere on this machine .
anyway
.................
any help is greatly appreciated

windows xp home sp_2 is what she has .
thanks for the help
Timothye :D
 

timothye

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2004
Messages
743
-= ANYONE =-
Sry for bumping this thread , but we would really like to solve this problem .
cheers Timothye.
:D
 

Squashman

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 4, 2003
Messages
19,786
I think I know what you are referring to with the Dell thing. I just can't remember the name of it. Will have to check when I get home. My wife has a Dell but I think I uninstalled all that crap when I got the computer for her.

Try setting up another user and see if you can update from that user.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
74
Hi Timothye,

Sounds like it might be ActiveX related. Could give this a try. Go to Tools/Internet Options/Settings (About half way down/View Objects. You should see WU WEBCONTROL CLASS there. Right click & click update. If it is damaged or corrupted, delete & WU should allow you to d/l a new ActiveX control.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Hawk
 

timothye

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2004
Messages
743
@Hawk 1
will try it ..
thanks for the tip
------------------------------
@Squashman
any help on this dell matter will be greatly appreciated .
Hope we can sort this out for MOM .

cheers GUys : Timothye
 

timothye

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2004
Messages
743
reopening this thread
nothing has worked anotherother suggestion on this 1 pleas e.
cheers timo
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top