Cannot View Multiple Webpages - IE6 and W98SE

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cxm322

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
111
Hi,
Sorry for the vague subject line. I could not think of a better one.

I have searched this forum for an answer to my problem but I cannot seem to find one.

I am using WIN98SE and IE6. For the past 3 months I have been having a problem (seems like a memory problem). Most of the time when I am surfing the web and opening multiple browser windows, all the browser windows except for the first one either do not load all the graphics on a page, loads very slowly, or will show the infamous "Page not Found" notice (even though the page that it is supposed to be displaying does in fact exist). I do not like to be reduced to only usine one browser window. I have many many sights that I use at one time therefore I need to be able to have multiple windows open.

I do not have any more programs running in the background than I had 3 months ago B4 this all started. This sounds like a memory problem or a resource problem but I cannot seem to find a solution.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

By the way, I am using a cable connection to the internet.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2002
Messages
65
Hi,

I personally found that using IE6 with operating systems that are older than XP is almost a death sentence. Switch back to good old 5.5 from Microsoft, and it should fix your problems!

Hope it helps!
 

dvk01

Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
First Name
Derek
go to http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/files/hijackthis.zip , and download 'Hijack This!'.
Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

When the scan is finished, the "Scan" button will change into a "Save Log" button.
Press that, save the log somewhere, and please copy & paste its contents to the forum.

It will possibly show issues deserving our attention, but most of what it lists will be harmless or even required, so do NOT fix anything yet.
Someone here will be happy to help you analyze the results.
 
Joined
May 4, 2002
Messages
743
Ya know.... a lot of folks have been poopooing IE6 with W98 recently. It is the first I have heard of it and my personal experience has been just fine.
I run it on three W98SE computers and on this one it is run to death all day long and I can't complain about any noticeable problem.

Maybe I should knock on some wood or something - but any problem I have had has been minor and usually just an improper setting or something.

I'm knocking Tazz or others who have experienced problems but I would just think that if it runs well on some - then it is less to do with W98 and maybe more to due with a particular setup of CPUs and speed and caches and memory and OSs and such.

It may be that W98 runs fine when everything is set right - and XP is better at seeing that everything is set right.

Whoa.... I better stop before I accidentally compliment Bill Gates and regret it! :D

- Castleheart
 

cxm322

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
111
Sorry, Tazza, I have been using IE6 with W98 for a long time now and it is not until recently that I have a problem.

Originally posted by tazza_0712:
Hi,

I personally found that using IE6 with operating systems that are older than XP is almost a death sentence. Switch back to good old 5.5 from Microsoft, and it should fix your problems!

Hope it helps!
 

cxm322

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
111
Thank you DVK01. Below is the log file generated by Hijack This...

==============================

Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
Scan saved at 1:00:28 PM, on 10/8/03
Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON INTERNET SECURITY\NISSERV.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATI2EVAE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON INTERNET SECURITY\NISUM.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON INTERNET SECURITY\SYMPROXYSVC.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON INTERNET SECURITY\IAMAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATIPTAXX.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATI2CWXX.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\REAL\UPDATE_OB\REALSCHED.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\NAVAPW32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\WT\WCMDMGR.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HPZTSB03.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\KEMAILKB\KEMAILKB.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\DATA LIFEGUARD\8263142\PROGRAM\BACKWEB-8263142.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\EFAX\DLLCMD32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\EFAX\HOTTRAY.EXE
E:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\DISTILLR\ACROTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HPZSTATX.EXE
E:\PROGRAM FILES\HIJACK THIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = localhost
R3 - Default URLSearchHook is missing
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - E:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\ACROBAT\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\windows\googletoolbar_en_2.0.95-deleon.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\windows\googletoolbar_en_2.0.95-deleon.dll
O3 - Toolbar: (no name) - {80E81A0E-9741-4FBC-8EE3-3B78C04ADA1D} - (no file)
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [iamapp] c:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\IAMAPP.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [OEMCleanup] C:\WINDOWS\OPTIONS\OEMRESET.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AtiPTA] Atiptaxx.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Ati2cwxx] Ati2cwxx.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BJCFD] C:\Program Files\BroadJump\Client Foundation\CFD.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe -osboot
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [wcmdmgr] C:\WINDOWS\wt\wcmdmgrl.exe -launch
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NAV Agent] c:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVAPW32.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPDJ Taskbar Utility] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\hpztsb03.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KEMailKb] C:\PROGRA~1\KEMAILKB\KEMailKb.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [service.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\service.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [nisserv] c:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\NISSERV.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ATIPOLAB] ati2evae.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ScriptBlocking] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
O4 - Startup: Live Menu.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\efax\Dllcmd32.exe
O4 - Startup: eFax.com Tray Menu.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\efax\HotTray.exe
O4 - Startup: Data LifeGuard LifeLine Lite installer.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\ins2.TMP\DLGLI1.EXE
O4 - Startup: Acrobat Assistant.lnk = E:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Distillr\AcroTray.exe
O4 - Startup: PowerReg SchedulerV2.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Data LifeGuard.lnk = C:\Program Files\Data LifeGuard\8263142\Program\backWeb-8263142.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://C:\WINDOWS\GOOGLETOOLBAR_EN_2.0.95-DELEON.DLL/cmsearch.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Cac&hed Snapshot of Page - res://C:\WINDOWS\GOOGLETOOLBAR_EN_2.0.95-DELEON.DLL/cmcache.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Si&milar Pages - res://C:\WINDOWS\GOOGLETOOLBAR_EN_2.0.95-DELEON.DLL/cmsimilar.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward &Links - res://C:\WINDOWS\GOOGLETOOLBAR_EN_2.0.95-DELEON.DLL/cmbacklinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate Page - res://C:\WINDOWS\GOOGLETOOLBAR_EN_2.0.95-DELEON.DLL/cmtrans.html
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console (HKLM)
O16 - DPF: {2253F320-AB68-4A07-917D-4F12D8884A06} (ChainCast VMR Client Proxy) - http://64.124.45.181/downloads/ccpm_0237.cab
O16 - DPF: {E77C0D62-882A-456F-AD8F-7C6C9569B8C7} (ActiveDataObj Class) - https://www-secure.symantec.com/techsupp/activedata/ActiveData.cab
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O16 - DPF: {F2A84794-EE6D-447B-8C21-3BA1DC77C5B4} (SDKInstall Class) - http://activex.microsoft.com/activex/controls/sdkupdate/sdkinst.cab
O16 - DPF: {2BC66F54-93A8-11D3-BEB6-00105AA9B6AE} (Symantec AntiVirus scanner) - http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/SharedContent/vc/bin/AvSniff.cab
O16 - DPF: {644E432F-49D3-41A1-8DD5-E099162EEEC5} (Symantec RuFSI Utility Class) - http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/SharedContent/common/bin/cabsa.cab
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37876.3074768518
O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab

==============================

Thank you for your help.




Originally posted by dvk01:
go to http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/files/hijackthis.zip , and download 'Hijack This!'.
Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

When the scan is finished, the "Scan" button will change into a "Save Log" button.
Press that, save the log somewhere, and please copy & paste its contents to the forum.

It will possibly show issues deserving our attention, but most of what it lists will be harmless or even required, so do NOT fix anything yet.
Someone here will be happy to help you analyze the results.
 
Joined
May 4, 2002
Messages
743
by the way C322.....

I assume you have cleaned up your temp files recently?
A loaded-down Temp Internet File folder can cause screw-ups.

If you haven't got to TOOLS/OPTIONS and clean away!

- C ;)
 

cxm322

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
111
Yes I have done that already as well as running a defrag and a scan disc just for something to do. Thanks, though.

Originally posted by CastleHeart:
by the way C322.....

I assume you have cleaned up your temp files recently?
A loaded-down Temp Internet File folder can cause screw-ups.

If you haven't got to TOOLS/OPTIONS and clean away!

- C ;)
 

dvk01

Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
First Name
Derek
This is some sort of trojan/virus that crops up from time to time with various different damaging effects

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [service.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\service.exe


to cure it try Download TDS-3 from http://www.wilders.org/anti_trojans.htm
and update it following the instructions here:
http://tds.diamondcs.com.au/index.php?page=update
Then enable the real-time protection and run a full system scan.

and post back with a new log afterwards and whether that has cured your problem
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
1,399
Unfortunately, TDS-3 is very unusable unless you register it. And it costs $50 to register it for full use.
 

dvk01

Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
First Name
Derek
no, you get a 30 day trial use with the updates included and that is long enough to fix the problem and if it works then is $50 more than your computer is worth to keep it clear and clean

otherwise do as they say and uninstall after the trial period
 

cxm322

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
111
DVK01, can you please tell me how to enable the realtime protection. I have been searching within the software and I cannot find this option anywhere?

Also, I was wondering if you could tell me why when doing a search on my system for the file "service.exe" I cannot find it anywhere within my system let alone in C:\WINDOWS\system32?

Thanks for helping.

It is scary to know that I have a trogan horse in my system yet I also have Norton Internet Security 2000 firewall running all the time and updated. Perhaps if I ever fix this problem I should look into getting a better firewall.


Originally posted by dvk01:
This is some sort of trojan/virus that crops up from time to time with various different damaging effects

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [service.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\service.exe


to cure it try Download TDS-3 from http://www.wilders.org/anti_trojans.htm
and update it following the instructions here:
http://tds.diamondcs.com.au/index.php?page=update
Then enable the real-time protection and run a full system scan.

and post back with a new log afterwards and whether that has cured your problem
 

dvk01

Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
First Name
Derek
the raltime protection seems to be called execution protection and apparantly is only available in the paid for version

I have been going by advice given to me by one of the anti-trojan experts who use this tds-3. I have just downloaded it today to give it a trial and it seems a steep learning curve but as I don't have any trojans on my computer (thankfully) I can't tell how effective it is. I am assured by others that it is the best on the market
 

dvk01

Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
First Name
Derek
Originally posted by cxm322:

Also, I was wondering if you could tell me why when doing a search on my system for the file "service.exe" I cannot find it anywhere within my system let alone in C:\WINDOWS\system32?

make sure that you have all files set to show by opening explorer /tools/folder options/view and make sure that show hidden files & folders is ticked and hide protected operating system files is UNticked
 

cxm322

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
111
Does this mean you cannot help me any further unless I buy the full version of TDS-3?

Also, I tried did what you said in order to make all my hidden and system files viewable and I still cannot find "service.exe". Not in the system32 fold or anywhere else on my system. Should I ever find it, can I get rid of this Trojan Horse by simply deleting the service.exe file or is there more to it than that?


ANd lastly, do you recommend using the fix function in Hijack This in order to take care of that service.exe? I was going to do this but I thought I'd ask first.

Thanks for your help thus far.



Originally posted by dvk01:
the raltime protection seems to be called execution protection and apparantly is only available in the paid for version

I have been going by advice given to me by one of the anti-trojan experts who use this tds-3. I have just downloaded it today to give it a trial and it seems a steep learning curve but as I don't have any trojans on my computer (thankfully) I can't tell how effective it is. I am assured by others that it is the best on the market
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top