canon rebel, lens, setup?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ms_khw

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 12, 2004
Messages
1,038
I have a Canon Rebel, new to the world of lens, apeture, focal point etc. I want to understand and be able to operate my camera manually in time, so I'm doing my best to learn. My question is this, when I set it to the av mode and set my settings, when trying to take a picture the lens sounds as though it is constantly readjusting itself. Is this a norm, or is it because my settings and location are off for the lighting etc. When using the camera in auto there is a green light that tells you that that everything is set. Should a green light also be showing when used in av, tv & p mode? Hope someone can help.
 

Guyzer

Guy
Joined
Jul 3, 2004
Messages
12,131
ms_khw said:
I have a Canon Rebel, new to the world of lens, apeture, focal point etc. I want to understand and be able to operate my camera manually in time, so I'm doing my best to learn. My question is this, when I set it to the av mode and set my settings, when trying to take a picture the lens sounds as though it is constantly readjusting itself. Is this a norm, or is it because my settings and location are off for the lighting etc. When using the camera in auto there is a green light that tells you that that everything is set. Should a green light also be showing when used in av, tv & p mode? Hope someone can help.
Until you become real familiar with your camera and it's adjustments my recommendation would be to have it set on " P " ( automatic RAW format ) or " Auto ( JPeg format ). Then as you become more familiar move to another feature and master that. Once you have gone through the gammet you'll probably have to start over because you will have forgotten it all.

The lens ( kit lens ??? ) readjusting itself sounds like it's trying to autofocus all the time. I don't know what you are doing but if you focus on something by pushing the shutter button 1/2 way down, then release it and move your camera even slightly it will try and focus when you press the button again. :confused: :confused:
 

ms_khw

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 12, 2004
Messages
1,038
I am pushing the button 1/2 way down and not releasing it, then pushing all the way when in focus. It is during the time that is pushed half way that the lens appears to be refocusing continuously. :confused: I guess I will do as you say, one step at a time.
 

Guyzer

Guy
Joined
Jul 3, 2004
Messages
12,131
It shouldn't try and focus on a continuing basis so something has to be up. The kit lens is quite cheap, though adequate to start off with and maybe you got a bad one. Next time you're near the camera shop ask them to have a listen or if you know someone in your circle of contacts that knows Canon DSLR's have them check it out.
 

ms_khw

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 12, 2004
Messages
1,038
The lens that I'm using is a 50mm. not the one that came with the kit. So it could be a bad lens?
 

Guyzer

Guy
Joined
Jul 3, 2004
Messages
12,131
It could be but without actually using it I wouldn't know. What I do know is that if you are doing what you say you are, and I believe you, then it should lock on focus ( and be silent ) until you have taken the shot.
 

ms_khw

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 12, 2004
Messages
1,038
I was sure that I was doing exactly as I should. This doesn't happen with my other lens (came with the kit) so I guess it must be the lens and not what I'm doing or not doing. I think I will take it to a camera shop the next time in town.

Thanks for your help. msk
 

Guyzer

Guy
Joined
Jul 3, 2004
Messages
12,131
ms_khw said:
This doesn't happen with my other lens (came with the kit) so I guess it must be the lens and not what I'm doing or not doing.
I wish I would have known that when I posted. Sounds like a bad lens to me then. Is it this lens? http://www.bccamera.com/product_info.php?cPath=27_30&products_id=48
Best bang for the buck that Canon ever came out with except besides being cheap in price it is also built cheap. Got to handle it very carefully but it does take amazingly sharp pictures.
 

ms_khw

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 12, 2004
Messages
1,038
Yep, that's the one. And yes it does take sharp pictures, no doubt about it. One further note, if I set the camera to full auto, there doesn't seem to be this problem??

I don't want to fall into the same trap by buying another, so is there one that you would recommend for portraits.? One that's not terribly expensive.
 

buck52

Banned
Joined
Mar 9, 2001
Messages
8,372
Any chance you are in continuous focus mode?

probably not if it does not happen with other lenses...

just a thought
 

Guyzer

Guy
Joined
Jul 3, 2004
Messages
12,131
ms_khw said:
Yep, that's the one. And yes it does take sharp pictures, no doubt about it. One further note, if I set the camera to full auto, there doesn't seem to be this problem??

I don't want to fall into the same trap by buying another, so is there one that you would recommend for portraits.? One that's not terribly expensive.
I'm going to assume that the lens is out of warranty ?? There are many others to choose from but it sounds like you want to do it on the cheap so I would walk into a camera shop and give another a whirl. Test it against yours and if it does the same thing buck might be on to something. Like him I doubt it but stranger things have happened. If a new one works like your other lens then you have a bad one and it isn't worth sending for repair unless it's covered by warranty. You have to remember that lens is less than $120.00 so it's disposable for lack of better words. btw... never try to manually focus that lens when it's working in the auto mode because it will self destruct.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top