Solved Canon scanner not found

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

crunchyhippo

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
12
I haven't used my Canon CanoScan Lide110 scanner in a while, so I went to use it again. It's a USB scanner and it's just a few years old. When I plugged it in, I could hear it setting itself, so I knew that it was "connected" to the computer. But when I opened the software to scan, it gave me a "no scanner detected" error (see attachment). I looked up the error code and tried all the suggestions, but all failed. I downloaded the most recent Canon drivers for my scanner, made sure I rebooted the computer after download with it unplugged, made sure no unresolved printer jobs were in queue, changed USB ports - no success. I hate to have to buy a new scanner when this has been working so well, but I don't know what else to do.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
2,638
what is your operating system? Windows 10 has a bad habit of installing the wrong drivers and you may have to roll them back, what does it look like in the device manager?
 

crunchyhippo

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
12
I have Windows 10. I'm not sure what I need to be looking for in Device Manager, but I expanded several options in the attachment. I don't know if the scanner would show up in Windows Explorer, for example, like a separate drive or something. Attached is an image. I don't see any other device in Windows Explorer if that helps.
 

Attachments

managed

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,662
First Name
Allan
In Device Manager right-click on CanoScan LiDE 110 > Properties > Driver tab > Roll back driver, which should go back to the previous driver.
 

crunchyhippo

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
12
In Device Manager right-click on CanoScan LiDE 110 > Properties > Driver tab > Roll back driver, which should go back to the previous driver.
I did try that - but "roll back driver" was grayed out. When I clicked "update driver" it searched and told me that the most recent one was already installed.
 

crunchyhippo

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
12
"No scanner detected" again. It did ask for me to plug in the scanner, and when I plugged it in I heard it come to life, the the popup window said click here to finish or something similar. Yet when I clicked on the Scancraft icon, it told me scanner not detected, then opened the scanner program. The program is on my computer, the computer recognizes the scanner, yet there's a disconnect somewhere. I have a feeling that it's in the software somewhere and not the drivers.....

It appears to be tied to error code 0x00070800 - whatever that is. I wonder if I uninstalled, could I then reinstall? Or is that just related to the drivers and not the software itself?
 
Last edited:

managed

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,662
First Name
Allan
Yes try uninstalling the drivers (if it offers to delete them do so) and any Canon software in Settings > Apps then reinstall using the download.
 

crunchyhippo

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
12
Yes try uninstalling the drivers (if it offers to delete them do so) and any Canon software in Settings > Apps then reinstall using the download.
Did that. No change. Same error.

This is the new Canon Scancraft scanner I've had. I used to have an older one. The .exe file that I'm clicking on to open up the software program is from 2001, leading me to think that although I have the right drivers, I may not have the right software program. But I'm not sure, and I sure don't know where the 0riginal program disc is after several moves.
 

managed

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,662
First Name
Allan
I thought you were trying to get the Lido one working ? You need the software for that.
 

crunchyhippo

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
12
I thought you were trying to get the Lido one working ? You need the software for that.
Sorry - I was out-of-town. I have the software for it. It opens fine. But when I try and scan, it gives me that error "no scanners detected."
 

crunchyhippo

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
12
Finally got it working. I installed a software update from the Canon site instead of a driver update and it worked. It also gave me a new desktop icon to click on - so maybe I had an older icon I had been clicking on, but I'm not sure.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top