1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Can't access bios setup after CPU upgrade??

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by SlickStretch, Dec 22, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SlickStretch

    SlickStretch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    When the computer is booting and before windows starts it says "Press Del to enter setup."
    I press delete, and then the setup screen flashes for just a fraction of a second before the system restarts.
    If I don't try to enter setup, the system boots just fine.
    I am using a H61M-P31-G3 motherboard, and I have the latest bios.
    I just upgraded the CPU from a Celeron G530 to an i5-2310

    SysInfo:
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2310 CPU @ 2.90GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 4061 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 580, 1536 Mb
    Hard Drives: A: 465 GB (204 GB Free); B: 185 GB (23 GB Free); C: 59 GB (6 GB Free); G: 111 GB (14 GB Free); I: 931 GB (229 GB Free);
    Motherboard: MSI, H61M-P31 (G3) (MS-7788)​
     
  2. phillpower2

    phillpower2

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    539
    Hello SlickStretch,

    Being low on free storage space on the boot partition could be the cause, regardless of whether or not it is you need to make more free storage space available else Windows will corrupt and render the computer unusable, see info here

    Other than the above, it could simply be down to the fact that the new CPU being faster and having more cores etc but MSI have a utility called Fast Boot which if causing the problem you may need to download it to disable it if that makes sense, some info here they mention Windows 8.1 in the thread but the info also the same for Windows 7.

    You could first try as a test physically disconnecting the power and SATA cables from the HDD then restart the computer to see if you can get into the BIOS and disable Fast Boot that way.
     
  3. SlickStretch

    SlickStretch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    I opened up my PC and unplugged everything and plugged 'em back in. It must have just been a loose connection, because it's working fine now.
     
  4. phillpower2

    phillpower2

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    539
    Glad to hear it and thanks for letting us know (y)
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1201615

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice