1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't access Control Panel through Settings-Win98

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by jws1969, Dec 8, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jws1969

    jws1969 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    I recently installed Win98 and can not access the control panel through the Start Menu - Settings-Control Panel method. I can however access control panel by going through My Computer.

    I have reinstalled Win98 and the problem persists. Machine info is as follows:
    CPU: 533Mhz Intel Celeron
    RAM: 128 Meg
    HD: 20 Gig

    Any ideas?

    Thx
     
  2. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    Is Control Panel present on the settings menu? If so, do you receive and error messages when you try to open it?
     
  3. jws1969

    jws1969 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    Yes the Control Panel is on the Settings menu. I do not get any error messages but when I click on the Control Panel it actually takes me to the root of my hard drive.
     
  4. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    If you overinstalled Windows, not formatted, it didn't resolve it.
    You can get into Control Panel though.

    It sounds like the settings thinks it's Windows Explorer. I have been trying to duplicate this and haven't been able to.

    What happens when you go to start>run ,type control.exe and
    press enter?

    Also, scan for viruses just in case.

    Go to start>run and type regedit. Press enter.
    Navigate to this key
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}

    Highlight it and Press export. Save it to the desktop. REname it
    Control.txt
    then reply in this post and at the bottom you'll see attach file. Click "Browse" and attach the file. I would like to take a look at it please. (Although I made changes in mine and couldn't get it to behave this way)
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61139

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice