1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't access linksys router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by heylookbjsgay, May 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. heylookbjsgay

    heylookbjsgay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Hi, I have a linksys WRT54G v8 wireless router and no matter what I do I cannot access the login page.

    I typed into FireFox and IE 192.168.1.1 and I get Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at 192.168.1.1.

    I uploaded a picture of my ipconfig I don't know what else to do becuase I've tried it on several computers.

    Help anyone?
    :confused:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Try IE, sometimes FF has a problem with certain routers.
     
  3. ShadowProwler420

    ShadowProwler420

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Have you tried accessing the router via a hardwired (ethernet cable) connection?
     
  4. heylookbjsgay

    heylookbjsgay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    When I try in IE it searches for 192.168.1.1 in live search.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Can you ping 192.168.1.1?
     
  6. ShadowProwler420

    ShadowProwler420

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Just for the record, JohnWill.....I have the same router, and FF works fine for accessing it. ;)
     
  7. heylookbjsgay

    heylookbjsgay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    :confused:
     

    Attached Files:

  8. ShadowProwler420

    ShadowProwler420

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Try flushing the DNS cache (ipconfig /flushdns at the command prompt) and see if that helps you access your router.

    And empty your browser cache(s), as well.
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, that's pretty odd. I'd be seriously considering a reset to factory defaults at this point.
     
  10. heylookbjsgay

    heylookbjsgay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Hum, nothin.
     
  11. ShadowProwler420

    ShadowProwler420

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Do you have a firewall up and running? If so, disable it temporarily and try accessing your router.
     
  12. heylookbjsgay

    heylookbjsgay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Actually I don't even have a firewall on this computer
     
  13. heylookbjsgay

    heylookbjsgay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    I held in the reset button in the back for 30 seconds if that's what you mean and nothing changed.
     
  14. ShadowProwler420

    ShadowProwler420

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    317
     
  15. heylookbjsgay

    heylookbjsgay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Same thing nothing.
    :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/829037

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice