1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't access ONLY one website from one particular computer

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by kbonello, May 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kbonello

    kbonello Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Hi dvk01

    I turned off antivirus and windows firewall but still the problem is there.
    THANKS
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,868
    open your hosts file again & add this line after it says # ::1 localhost

    83.138.165.156 timesofmalta.com

    press save & either reboot or restart your browser see if that solves it
     
  3. kbonello

    kbonello Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Hi dvk01

    i can't manage to save the file hosts in hosts.file without having the notepad extension

    thanks
     
  4. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    Kbonello

    When your ready to save the hosts file use the save as function instead of the save function. When you use the save as function place quotation marks around hosts.

    exp:

    Save as = "Hosts"
     
  5. kbonello

    kbonello Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Hi Davey7549, thanks for the tip

    @ dvk01
    Saving 83.138.165.156 timesofmalta.com in the hosts file did not work. Maybe i did not write it the exact right way? What i mean is , probably every space and fullstop counts and makes a difference. Would it be possible to show me the exact formatting? Here is how i did it. (I restored the hosts original text for the time being)


    # localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
    # 127.0.0.1 localhost
    # ::1 localhost 83.138.165.156 timesofmalta.com

    THANK YOU
     
  6. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,868
    83.138.165.156 timesofmalta.com
    must be on a line of its own

    # localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
    # 127.0.0.1 localhost
    # ::1 localhost
    83.138.165.156 timesofmalta.com
     
  7. kbonello

    kbonello Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Hi dvk01

    The problem still persists.

    Thanks for the help.

    Any other suggestion?
     
  8. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,868
    If you have added that to your hosts file & the website isn't blocking you then it uist be your antivirus or firewall blocking the site
    You have already said that other computers on your network can get to it so it isn't likely to be the site blocking you

    Run dds again & lets see if anything new has shown up & that will make sure that the hosts has been written to properly
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1053494