1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

can't access program files because of OS?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jtn3833, Feb 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jtn3833

    jtn3833 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    447
    I've seen several similar problems posted but I can't resolve this one.

    I have two computers networked together. Both are XPpro, and both are using simple sharing. When I go into the sharing & security settings of the Program Files folder on one of the computers all of the options are grayed out and a little message states that

    "None of these options are available because this folder is used by the OS"

    Any thoughts?
    Thanks,
    JTN
     
  2. jonmcc33

    jonmcc33 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    827
  3. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,783
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I don't use Simple Sharing on my XP-Pro, and I have no issue sharing the entire C: drive, including the \Windows and \Program Files folders. Perhaps just unchecking Simple Sharing?
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,846
    First Name:
    Terry
    Yes, with Simple File Sharing Program Files, Documents and Settings, and another folder or two are off limits for network sharing. Use Advanced File Sharing, as JohnWill said.
     
  6. Wanderer2

    Wanderer2

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,428
    Also understand sharing your programs folder will not result in the other pc being able to use those programs. Just in case that was what you were thinking.
     
  7. jtn3833

    jtn3833 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    447
    -I'll try turning on advanced sharing and see what that does. Every forum I've run into with this issue suggests using Simple Sharing.

    Actually, Wanderer2 - that was exactly what I was thinking. I've done it before on another network, using a simple program. This time a friend is trying to run Quicken on a secondary computer while keeping her files on the primary computer.

    -they have 3 computers networked. Computer A has Quicken installed and they would like to run that Quicken from either of the 2 other computers on the network. I thought it might work, but wasn't sure then ran into this strange 'no access to program files' issue.

    -perhaps I should just post what I want to do in regards to running Quicken from 2 other computers in a new forum.

    Thanks for the feedback,
    JTN
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/682564

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice