1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cant access router config browser BEFSR41 Linksys

Discussion in 'Networking' started by shadoc, Aug 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. shadoc

    shadoc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Since upgrading to Windows XP, I haven’t been able to access the DHCP server by entering "http://192.168.1.1/" in the browser. Nothing appears.

    I haven’t changed the server address and Internet Explorer is up to date (v. 6).

    One of the online games I play uses a certain port which I need to ensure is open.

    Router: Linksys BEFSR41 – Firmware was upgraded


    Your help is appreciated.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Have you installed a firewall? Did you disable the XP firewall?
     
  3. roban

    roban

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    394
    Try http://192.168.0.1
     
  4. shadoc

    shadoc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    My Router has a firewall NAT built in. And no, the XP firewall isnt in use.

    The router and firewall work great except that I cant configure it for other use. ie. configuring port forwarding
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Open a command prompt (MS-DOS window) and type:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Post the results.
     
  6. shadoc

    shadoc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks for your responses.

    The linksys technical support provided the following solution which worked:

    Reset the router and do power cycle on your system, to do this please follow the steps below:

    Below is the instruction on how to do a hard reset.

    1) Press and hold the Reset button for about 30 seconds while the router is on.

    2) Remove power.

    3) Wait about 5 seconds, then reapply power.



    Note:

    * The router should now be restored to factory default settings, so it is an advise that you list all the setting of the router for easy reference.

    * You should be able to enter the setup page using the default password admin. (I wasnt able to enter setup once I renewed the firmware)

    1. Shut down your computer

    2. Unplug the power from the router

    3. Unplug the power from the DSL modem

    4. Wait for 1 or 2 minutes and re apply power to the DSL modem

    5. Once the lights on the modem stop blinking power up the router

    6. Start up your PC

    7. Check your connection.


    If this doesn't work please try to use the attached firmware so that you can establish the connection between the computer and the router.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/156722

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice