Can't access some sites

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DKTaber

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
2,871
About two weeks ago, I was downloading version 6.01 of Adobe Acrobat Reader, and suffered a horrendous OS crash... so bad that when I rebooted, the DOS screen came up with the message "Please type the location of the command interpreter". I typed in "C:\Command.com", hit enter, and nothing happened. So I reinstalled Windows98 SE, which allowed the computer to boot, but thereafter, neither IE6 nor Netscape 7.1 are able to consistently connect to SOME (not all...SOME) sites. For example http://www.cable-modem.net/features/oct99/speed.html. What I get when I try to go to these sites is a perpetual hour glass... never times out... and I cannot close the window, go back, etc. Only option is to reboot.

I have (a) deleted all temporary Internet files, (b) all cookies, (c) tried repairing IE 6, (d) run AdAware 6 to get rid of any unwanted cookies (d) run Spybot to delete spyware. Nothing changes, and when the freezeup occurs and I ctrl-alt-delete, and tell task manager to close the browser, I get an error message with <unknown> in the title bar and a message to the effect that something (unknown) has performed an illegal operation and will be closed.

I'm at my wits end to find out what causing this. Please respond if you have a clue as to what's wrong. Thanks.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2003
Messages
557
2 things I can think off.

#1 Install all critical windows updates, also check the other updates, for what they do and download any you think might help.
#2 Do you use anti-virus?

And also, when did this start happening?
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Download 'Hijack This!'. http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/
Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

When the scan is finished, the "Scan" button will change into a "Save Log" button.
Press that, save the log, load it in Notepad, and copy its contents here. Most of what it lists will be harmless or even essential, don't fix anything yet.
 

DKTaber

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
2,871
All of the Windows updates have been installed

Yes, I have Norton AV running in the background all the time, but I always disable it when downloading.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2003
Messages
557
Disabled your AV while downloading???? What kind of an idiot r u!
Ok, that was a bit over the top.
You should never though disable it when downloading any .exe or .zip file.
Especially from P2P, if u use them.

BUT, more importantly, download hijackthis as mobo instructed u, and post the log here.
 

DKTaber

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
2,871
Scmatzer/Mobo: I misspoke. I don't disable when downloading, only when installing.

Here's the Hijack This Log:
Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.3
Scan saved at 8:00:21 PM, on 4/22/04
Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCEVTMGR.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS\NORTON CLEANSWEEP\CSINJECT.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\SYMTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCAPP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS\NORTON CLEANSWEEP\CSINSM32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADSUBTRACT\ADSUB.EXE
C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton CleanSweep\Monwow.exe
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\OUTLOOK EXPRESS\MSIMN.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
C:\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = http=AdSubtract:4444
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
N3 - Netscape 7: user_pref("browser.startup.homepage", "http://www.google.com"); (C:\WINDOWS\Application Data\Mozilla\Profiles\default\6he0yfjk.slt\prefs.js)
N3 - Netscape 7: user_pref("browser.search.defaultengine", "engine://C%3A%5CPROGRAM%20FILES%5CNETSCAPE%5CNETSCAPE%5Csearchplugins%5CSBWeb_02.src"); (C:\WINDOWS\Application Data\Mozilla\Profiles\default\6he0yfjk.slt\prefs.js)
O1 - Hosts: 216.40.230.4 desktop.kazaa.com
O1 - Hosts: 216.40.230.4 alpha.kazaa.com
O1 - Hosts: 216.40.230.4 shop.kazaa.com
O1 - Hosts: ehg-rr.hitbox.com
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - (no file)
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\windows\downloaded program files\googletoolbar2.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 6.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.DLL
O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\windows\downloaded program files\googletoolbar2.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccRegVfy] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccRegVfy.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mstask.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ccEvtMgr] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [CSINJECT.EXE] C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton CleanSweep\CSINJECT.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SymTray - Norton SystemWorks] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SymTray.exe "Norton SystemWorks"
O4 - Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
O4 - Startup: CleanSweep Smart Sweep-Internet Sweep.lnk = C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton CleanSweep\csinsm32.exe
O4 - Startup: AdSubtract.lnk = C:\Program Files\AdSubtract\adsub.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLETOOLBAR2.DLL/cmsearch.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Cac&hed Snapshot of Page - res://C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLETOOLBAR2.DLL/cmcache.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Si&milar Pages - res://C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLETOOLBAR2.DLL/cmsimilar.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward &Links - res://C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLETOOLBAR2.DLL/cmbacklinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate into English - res://C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLETOOLBAR2.DLL/cmtrans.html
O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console (HKLM)
O12 - Plugin for .3dml: C:\Program Files\Flatland\NProver.dll
O16 - DPF: {E77C0D62-882A-456F-AD8F-7C6C9569B8C7} (ActiveDataObj Class) - https://www-secure.symantec.com/techsupp/activedata/ActiveData.cab
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37874.6790972222
O16 - DPF: {597C45C2-2D39-11D5-8D53-0050048383FE} (OPUCatalog Class) - http://office.microsoft.com/productupdates/content/opuc.cab
O16 - DPF: {C2FCEF52-ACE9-11D3-BEBD-00105AA9B6AE} (Symantec RuFSI Registry Information Class) - http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/SharedContent/common/bin/cabsa.cab
O16 - DPF: {CE28D5D2-60CF-4C7D-9FE8-0F47A3308078} (ActiveDataInfo Class) - https://www-secure.symantec.com/techsupp/activedata/SymAData.dll
O16 - DPF: {3E68E405-C6DE-49FF-83AE-41EE9F4C36CE} (Office Update Installation Engine) - http://office.microsoft.com/officeupdate/content/opuc.cab
O16 - DPF: {E7DBFB6C-113A-47CF-B278-F5C6AF4DE1BD} - http://download.abacast.com/download/files/abasetup144.cab
O16 - DPF: {2BC66F54-93A8-11D3-BEB6-00105AA9B6AE} (Symantec AntiVirus scanner) - http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/SharedContent/vc/bin/AvSniff.cab
O16 - DPF: {02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B} (QuickTime Object) - http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab
O16 - DPF: {62475759-9E84-458E-A1AB-5D2C442ADFDE} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...pple.com/mickey/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
O16 - DPF: {9A9307A0-7DA4-4DAF-B042-5009F29E09E1} (ActiveScan Installer Class) - http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as5/asinst.cab
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Rescan once more and put a check next to each of these then close all browser windows and click "fix checked"

O1 - Hosts: 216.40.230.4 desktop.kazaa.com

O1 - Hosts: 216.40.230.4 alpha.kazaa.com

O1 - Hosts: 216.40.230.4 shop.kazaa.com

O1 - Hosts: ehg-rr.hitbox.com

O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - (no file)
 

DKTaber

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
2,871
Did as you asked, rebooted, and nothing has changed. Tried to open the cable-modem speed test site, and browser freezes with hourglass -- perpetually. Ctrl-Alt-Del and end task on the browser and I'm left with this message: Title bar: '<unknown.' Message: "This program has performed an illegal operation and will be shut down... etc."

Soooo... what next?
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Try disabling the google toolbar and the adsubtract for a few minutes and try it.
 

DKTaber

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
2,871
I mostly use Netscape to surf the Web, so there is no Google toolbar. I have the toolbar on IE6, but it's been there for a couple of years at least, and never caused a problem. I only use Netscape because IE has always had a problem "completing" the display of some pages; i.e., some graphics remain only a frame with a read "x" in them. Have to refresh, often several times, to get all the graphics to show. Have no such problem with Netscape, so tend to use it most of the time.

I will try disabling AdSubtract... but I've done that before and it did nada. I do have to disable it for some sites in order to see the pop-up windows, but that hasn't been a problem with the cable modem test site.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
go to start / search and find the HOSTS file. Then open it with notepad.

There may be a list of entries there. What i want you to do is delete all except 127.0.0.1 localhost. Then save the changes, reboot and try things out.
 
Joined
May 6, 2004
Messages
1,929
DKTaber, you said that you are running Norton? What version? And When you try to access those sites, does it come up with a message saying that the site is not responding? Cause if it is what I suspect, it's Norton that is blocking you. Liz
 

DKTaber

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
2,871
I thought I was automatically subscribed to this thread, but have received not notifications from TSG, and now see that there are a lot of responses (how does one subscribe if it's not automatic?). In any case, here are responses to some of the replies:

MoBo: I will try the HOSTS thing, and let you know what happens.
Itramsey: I'm running Norton SystemWorks 2003. No messages appear when I try to access the sites; IE or Netscape (either one) just freezes with the hourglass perpetual. Opening Task Mgr. indicates the program is "not responding". I have script-blocking in Norton AV TURNED OFF to allow scripts to run, so it isn't blocking anything.
 

DKTaber

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
2,871
MoBo: I have "hosts" files of various kinds. Most of them belong to SpyBot, or are "example" files. The only hosts that isn't won't open with Notepad; get nothing but symbols. Which "hosts" file are you refering to?
 
Joined
May 6, 2004
Messages
1,929
DKTaber, Norton 2003 isn't a problem but 2004 IS. If you go to the Tips and Tricks Folder, you will see what I posted about Norton 2004 and why I asked the question. Liz
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top