1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't access some websites

Discussion in 'Networking' started by kaone, May 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kaone

    kaone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Help please, with a very strange problem.

    I have a router to which my pc connects directly through an internet cable, and my wife's over a wireless connection.

    There are some sites which I can't access, but which my wife's pc can. eg www.metoffice.com. When I try to access it I get no response at all.

    I have just changed to a different router with Sky but I had the same problem with my original router. When I connected through a broadband modem everything was ok.

    Any ideas? thanks
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    When connected to the router with the problem machine, do this.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    Also, I'd like to see this, running in the same command prompt.

    TRACERT www.metoffice.com

    Post the results here.
     
  3. kaone

    kaone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks, the first results are:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Martin>cd\

    C:\>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : your-fb0cefa2f7
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-09-5F-ED-21
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 26 May 2007 20:11:37
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 29 May 2007 20:11:37

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8169/8110 Family Gigabit
    Ethernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-09-5F-ED-22

    C:\>

    and the second:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Martin>cd\

    C:\>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : your-fb0cefa2f7
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-09-5F-ED-21
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 26 May 2007 20:11:37
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 29 May 2007 20:11:37

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8169/8110 Family Gigabit
    Ethernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-09-5F-ED-22

    C:\>

    Hope this helps
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    What about the TRACERT?
     
  5. kaone

    kaone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Sorry, thought I had.



    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Martin>cd\

    C:\>tracert www.metoffice.com

    Tracing route to www.metoffice.com [151.170.240.7]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
    2 71 ms 70 ms 71 ms cr0.smai.uk.easynet.net [87.87.250.165]
    3 57 ms 56 ms 57 ms 87.87.153.129
    4 61 ms 60 ms 59 ms ip-89-200-132-53.ov.easynet.net [89.200.132.53]

    5 59 ms 60 ms 59 ms ge2-1-0.er3.tclon.uk.easynet.net [89.200.130.0]

    6 60 ms 59 ms 60 ms linx2.ukcore.bt.net [195.66.226.10]
    7 60 ms 59 ms 59 ms core2-pos14-0.ealing.ukcore.bt.net [62.6.201.85]

    8 63 ms 63 ms 63 ms core2-pos7-1.birmingham.ukcore.bt.net [62.6.204.
    221]
    9 66 ms 65 ms 66 ms interconnect1-gig2-0.birmingham.fixed.bt.net [62
    .6.196.10]
    10 75 ms 75 ms 74 ms ftip002779089-ms-fo.interconnect1.birmingham.fix
    ed-nte.bt.net [194.73.17.146]
    11 78 ms 78 ms 77 ms www.meto.gov.uk [151.170.240.7]

    Trace complete.

    C:\>
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, you can obviously trace to the site, so I can't imagine why you can't access it. The only thing that comes to mind is your IP address is blocked from logging on for some reason.
     
  7. hermes

    hermes

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2000
    Messages:
    642
    If it is particular to the sky router, what router is it? Was your working broadband modem connection part of a Sky package or did the issue actually start when you joined Sky?
     
  8. kaone

    kaone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    I had exactly the same problem with my previous router, and was hoping that the change might cure it, however it hasn't.

    I can't be blocked from the sites as I was able to access them through an old broadband modem. Unfortunately I can no longer do this as to use Sky's broadband service I have to connect through their router.

    It really is weird.
     
  9. kaone

    kaone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Hey guys, I know my problem sounds weird, but there must be a reason for these problems.

    My wife's pc connects via wireless perfectly...
    My pc connected directly (via a modem) perfectly....

    so the problem must lie in the connection between my pc and the router, ie the ethernet connection?

    Could I connect my pc via wireless to test this hypothesis?

    Any advice would be welcome as It's getting very annoying - the number of pages that won't load or only partially load seem to be increasing.
     
  10. kaone

    kaone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    I've just managed to connect my pc through the wireless connection and it works perfectly, and actually is now quicker than when browsing using the ethernet cable.

    Any ideas as to what the problem may be? a faulty socket on my pc perhaps? I've tried two cables so it can't be that.
     
  11. hermes

    hermes

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2000
    Messages:
    642
    Could you try cabling in your wife's PC and seeing if her's works over cable? Might isolate the problem. Sounds like it may be host based.
     
  12. kaone

    kaone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    I had the same thought - but having disconnected, moved and reconnected my wife's pc into my study I discovered that it didn't have an ethernet port!

    As my pc is now working fine using the wireless connection I can only deduce that there is either a hardware or driver problem with its ethernet port or NIC. I may pursue that in the future but for now I'm just glad that it's working ok.
     
  13. hermes

    hermes

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2000
    Messages:
    642
    There are various bugs, issues with default settings and incompatibilities that occur with NIC cards. I know the sum total of zero about them but PC Support and Build techies are usually aware.
     
  14. kaone

    kaone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks, I'll take it up with my pc supplier.
     
  15. Blackmirror

    Blackmirror

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    32,641
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/577348

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice