1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't Boot and can't get past Blue Screen

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by ggtande, Oct 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ggtande

ggtande Thread Starter

My computer (Dell Dimension 4550, XP Home) locked up & had to turn it off. Upon restart I get part way into boot and get the black & white screen with the 5 Windows start options. All options lead to a blue screen with the following Stop information:

0x0000007B(0xF8B4D528,0xC0000034,0x00000000,0x00000000)

I can find no way out of this screen other than turning off the computer. I am not technical but can follow directions. Thanks in advance for any advice you can provide.

2. bonk

bonk Banned

Did you gey any CDs with Operating System on it.

3. ggtande

ggtande Thread Starter

I got 3 CDs with the computer: a Drivers and Utilities CD with device drivers, Diagnostics and utilities, and Computer documentation on it, an application CD with Roxio on it and another Application CD with antivirus, support software, multimedia software, and Internet software. I have no CD labeled 'Operating System'

4. bonk

bonk Banned

Do you have one called Recovery Disk

5. ggtande

ggtande Thread Starter

I looked one last place and found 'Operating System': Reinstallation CD. If this disk is useds will I lose any apps or data? Thanx.

6. bonk

bonk Banned

7. ggtande

ggtande Thread Starter

Your recommendation worked perfectly...thank you very much. I think the repair must have changed the settings on my Wireless G card as my signal strength is now very low. Hey, a new challenge! Thanks again.

8. ggtande

ggtande Thread Starter