1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't boot past message "lsasse.exe not found"

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by GEOFF, Nov 27, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. GEOFF

    GEOFF Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 1999
    Messages:
    382
    Had an error message in Norton about could not read incomming email for Outlook and then a message in explorer about shutting down. So, I rebooted and up comes a message I have never seen before "preparing network connections" (and I am on dial up if that helps at all) but now cannot get by the mesage box that follows (lsasse.exe. not found). Click it and nothing happens. Tried safe mode and same message and then click it and restarts in normal mode and back to the message. Can only get out of there by holding the on/off switch until it shuts off. Tried last settings and restore but nothing. I know now I should have maybe run Norton. I do not have unfortunately Norton rescue disks made up. How can I get the sytem past the system program lsasse.exe? What to do? I ran Ad-Aware a couple of days ago and cleared off about 20 critical objects....
     
  2. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791
    Sorry to seem picky but are you absolutely sure about the spelling on that message. lsass.exe is a valid and necessary Windows application - lsasse.exe could be an invader.

    What do you use in the way of spy and adware trackers, and virus scanner?
     
  3. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791
    In anticipation of your reply, I now recommend going to http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html to download HijackThis. First, though, go to Windows Explorer and Programme Files and create a new folder, calloing it HJT. When you download HJT, unzip it to that folder. You can also run it from there. Save the log and it will create a Notepad document which you can copy and paste back here for specialist analysis and response.

    Do NOT allow HJT to fix anything until you've heard back from someone in this forum. You may like to ask the Moderator to move this thread to the Security section where it will attract more attention.
     
  4. GEOFF

    GEOFF Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 1999
    Messages:
    382
    Glad you are picky because I typed it in wrong--it is lsass.exe not lsasse.exe. Sorry about that.

    I am running Norton 2002 AntiVirus. I have run Spybot and Ad-Aware a few days ago. My desktop system is XP home by the way.

    But, I can't get past the lsass.exe error box message---this happens very early in the boot--like I said even safe mode gets this message....so I can even get anywhere on XP!!! I think I'm in a bad way here o...I am communicating now on my laptop because my PC is down :(
     
  5. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791
    I suggest you pop in your XP CD, reboot and tap Delete or function2 or whatever to bring up the BIOS and then alter the boot sequence to put CD ROM at the top of the list. When the CD runs, ignore the first Recovery option and continue as if installing for the first time. After you're prompted to press function 8 to agree to the EULA, a second Repair option comes along and that's the one you want becauise it will preserve your other programmes and data at then end of the exercise. This could take over half an hour but it will include expanding a new copy of lsass.exe from the CD and cure your problem.

    Some settings may have got lost in this process but nothing major, and don't forget to reassign floppy disk and hard disk 0 as numbers one and two in the boot sequence back in the BIOS menus.
     
  6. GEOFF

    GEOFF Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 1999
    Messages:
    382
    Ok, thank you. My XP CD is at home and I am at my office. I will do what you suggest this evening and advise as soon as I finish. Really appreciate your assisstance.
     
  7. GEOFF

    GEOFF Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 1999
    Messages:
    382
    Saga Lout
    Problem. All was going well with the XP cd running in the second repair option as you instructed for about 4 or 5 minutes when it re-booted and then started installing all over again and then rebooted again and started over. It was during the installation of devices portion I think that it kept doing that. Anyway, I pulled the cd and then the message "looking for "asms file" file on XP home cd came up and it requested the path. Well, it suggested D or a path to a canon camera installation I did a few days ago....maybe only because this was the last installation path used. When I cancelled the setup, the log showed "error while trying to set security system". Don't know why this problem is arising. If it sheds any light all I can comment is:

    I checked my wife's PC that runs XP home and there is no file on it called asms. (And she runs the same Norton version as well.) A few days ago I installed my program for my digital camera which was W98 compatable, but I down loaded XP drivers from Canon. Just now I downloaded those drivers onto my wife's PC and there was no file called asms when I did a file search.
    By the way, when I went into setup in the beginning as you instructed and the CD rom drive was the first one in the boot order already, so I did not change anything. Not sure what to do now......
     
  8. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791
  9. GEOFF

    GEOFF Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 1999
    Messages:
    382
    I think I am dead in the water. Tried cleaning my XP cd---no change. Tried my wife's and still the same result. The file asms (D:\1386\asms according to what I saw in the log report) is requested and says setup cannot continue because it can't find this file.. Before this message appears during the installatin stage the screen goes black and then reappears and then it reboots and then it goes through setup again and it is when I try to stop things by removing the cd that the message appears asking for the file. Without removing the cd Setup keeps running over and over. Actually, no matter what, even without the cd setup keeps running. In the log the file request turned up as D:\1386\asms. This is not on either CD or Windows can't find it, though I have tried both cds when requested and tried it with this path as well.

    I can't think what to do now. If I try a clean install and not a repair maybe the same error message will keep comming up. Should I have the hard drive erased and then start over? I wish I knew what that file was and where it was....sigh :confused:
     
  10. GEOFF

    GEOFF Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 1999
    Messages:
    382
    Found the problem!!--it is Microsoft, not me!! This "asms" error message is detailed in their knowledge base article id 311755 at this link:
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;311755#toc
    It was previously Q311755.

    Seems that XP Setup program cannot communicate with the CD-ROM. Hard to believe. So, that is why I keep getting that asms error message. Now according to this I have to find a W98se cd and a Startup disc to resolve this.They have to be kidding.
    XP I thought was a little more advanced than that...I mean using W98se cd's to sort out XP.......
    That's like hunting around at the scarpyard for a part for your brand new Corvette.

    I have been mucking around with this problem all day. I can't believe it. I'm going to bed...hopefully when I wake up someone will tell me it's just a bad dream. Is this really the only way to sort it out? Yikes. :eek:
     
  11. GEOFF

    GEOFF Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 1999
    Messages:
    382
    I did try the startup disc and my W98se cd from my Fujitsu laptop...but it could not find the file...I suspect it is because my cd does not have the smartdrv.exe file as it is for a laptop and on the cd it says it will only work with my laptop. I don't know anyone else with W98se or Millenium.

    So, now I am willing just to reinstall XP and wipe out everything I guess! But, will I get this same message about cannot find asms file and be stuck right where I am now. Does this happen on every XP installation? Or is it because it was in repair mode? Does everybody have to have a W98se cd and start disc around to deal with this? I am at a loss what to do here......suggestions?
     
  12. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791
    Can we just be clear about one thing - are you working from a full version XP CD or an upgrade. How did '98 get into this? Can you put your CD in your wife's machine and run a search for that file and, if so, can you find it?
     
  13. GEOFF

    GEOFF Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 1999
    Messages:
    382
    Your idea is a good one. I checked the XP cd in my computer and the file is there. I think I had put the path wrong or something.

    but, very bad news is, whatever I did by booting from the W98 start disc sure screwed things up.(my bad idea--I should have waited to see what you said first). I went to try seeing if I could get setup to try and find that Asms file now that I could see the path, but if I try to install XP on the first setup window or even attempt the first screen repair, then I get a blue screen message about hardware not compatible. Also at startup I get a message missing or corrupt Windows\system32\config\system.
    I know I have screwed this up, but all the data on my pc thank goodness I had backed up onto my laptop. I can still get into the Bios setup utility. Is there any way to erase the hard drive and then install my XP again?

    To answer your questions, though they may not be relevant now:
    I am working from an upgrade XP cd. W98 got into this when I looked up in Microsoft support the "asms file" message at the link I indicated and it said if XP setup cannot communicate with the CD-rom then do all the W98 stuff....
    (I do not have by the way the original W98 cd for my computer.)
     
  14. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791
    You can try using that '98 boot up floppy to format the hard drive and start all over but I suspect you'll need to put '98 in first as the basis for the upgrade to XP. So long as you're satisfied you have the entitlement to a licenced copy of '98, I suppose it's forgiveable to borrow a CD from someone for that purpose. Don't forget the /s switch to put a system format on the hard disk so the command become Format C:\ /s

    There's nothing in the BIOS to help you with this but I wish we knew more about that hardware incompatibility. When (if) you get to reinstalling, take a creaful note of the hardware issues XP will warn you about.
     
  15. natcom

    natcom

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,243
    Try copying d:\i386 to c:\windows\i386

    and run the install from c:\windows\i386
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/301403

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice