Can't Boot Up from Copied New Hard Drive

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

joshjpang

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2006
Messages
40
Hey Guys, thanks for all your help in advance.

1. I bought, installed, partitioned, and formatted a new 100GB hard drive to Drive (H).
2. I copied the contents of my old 80GB hard drive (C) to the new 100GB hard drive using Norton Ghost via USB 2.0 enclosure.
3. When I installed the new 100GB hard drive into the chasis, it won't boot up and it says...

"Windows could not start because of a computer disk hardware configuration problem. Could not read from the selected book disk. Check boot path and disk hardware. Please check Winds documentation about hardware disk configuration and your hardware reference manual for additional information."

I put my old hard drive back into the and it booted up fine.

This is what disk management says:
Local Disk (C) - Partition - Basic - NTFS - Healthy (system) - (this is the old 80GB)
Local Disk (H) - Partition - Basic - NTFS - Healthy (active) - (this is the new 100GB)

How do I get my new hard drive to boot up? :(

Thanks a lot!
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2005
Messages
392
do a full format, then perform a fresh install of your operating system, then copy the non-system files you want from your old drive (don't use ghost)

the operating system that you copied to the new drive (via ghost) was set up for your original hardware, you changed a major hardware component, and tried to use the old settings, that is where your problem lies.

if you insist on using the new drive with the ghost image (even though it is not recommended), you can try to boot from your Windows CD and choose repair, that should update your system files to work with the new hardware.
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2005
Messages
1,269
Ive imaged drives in this way with no problems.
Make sure the new drive is detected in the bios and is the first to boot, failing that, re-image from the old drive, and try again.

If you have all the software needed, then the best thing to do is as KingCody says, 'do a full format, then perform a fresh install of your operating system, then copy the non-system files you want from your old drive'
 

joshjpang

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2006
Messages
40
You guys are awesome. Thanks for the super fast help.

I'll try what Rob said first because that seems to be quicker... if it doesn't work, I'll do what Cody said (since that's more bulletproof). Also, if I use Norton Ghost, and it does sucessfully work, should I still reinstall Windows?

I updated my signature, notice the new hard-drive (yes I'm that confident that your advice will work :D )

Cheers!
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2005
Messages
1,269
If it works then Windows should run with no probs, so shouldnt need reinstalling
 

joshjpang

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2006
Messages
40
I tried using Norton Ghost again, this type selecting an option called "Copy MBR" which copies the master boot record from the old drive to the new drive.

After copying, removing the old drive from the chasis, and inserting the new drive, the same problem occurred (see Windows error message above).

I got my Windows CD and tried to reinstall Windows to see if this would fix the problem. It did not. The new Windows installation did a separate Windows install without merging my exisiting settings, favorites, and My Documents together.

Right now, I'm going to try Norton Ghost one last time. This time without enabling the "Set Drive Active (for booting OS)" option for the new destination drive.

If this does not work, I don't know. I really appreciate Cody's tip, but I have a lot of files such as Outlook emails, programs, and other personalized stuff that may not be worth the effort and time of transferring.

I hope this last Norton Ghost try will work. Any suggestions guys?
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2004
Messages
95
Hello Josh: I didn't study the other posts too close but "maybe" you could do a clean install on that newer empty drive and once working, plug the older "C" drive back in also but into the slave position as "D" and then copy your personal files over.

just a quick suggestion.. agpilot
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2005
Messages
392
joshjpang said:
I got my Windows CD and tried to reinstall Windows to see if this would fix the problem. It did not. The new Windows installation did a separate Windows install without merging my exisiting settings, favorites, and My Documents together.
That's why I told you to repair windows, not install... when you install, windows formats the drive first, but if you already have an existing OS on the drive, then you can choose the repair option, which will simply over-write the existing system files to match your current harware, it will not format or erase your other non-system files.

so if you remain insistent on using your ghosted drive, then use norton to copy the image on the new drive like you did before, then install the new drive, and boot the machine from the windows CD, choose install, and after a couple of screens, it will notify you that there is already an installation of wondows on the drive, it will give you the option to repair the existing installation, or to perform a clean install... choose repair
 

joshjpang

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2006
Messages
40
That makes sense... I'm an idiot for sure. I should change my level of Experience from Intermediate to Idiot :D
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
739
Read this topic: (scroll down for comments).
http://www.experts-exchange.com/Operating_Systems/Q_20983648.html
You're probably gonna need to do a fresh install for it to work, you see you need the usb driver to load the OS.
To specify an "additional mass storage device" (this means disc drive) for Windows 2000 or XP during Setup, press F6 during the boot into text-mode Setup.

To specify an "additional mass storage device" (this means disc drive) for Windows 2000 or XP during Setup, press F6 during the boot into text-mode Setup. At this point insert a floppy containing the drivers. If the drivers came on a CD, you must copy them to a floppy diskette before this step in order to install them.

You may never have noticed the "F6" option before, since it happens at the bottom of the screen and is visible for only a few seconds during a standard install. What you most likely encountered during the setup process was a screen which came up informing you Setup could not find any drives installed on your computer, and it could not continue,

To be able to hit the F6 button, you must restart the Setup process, and watch the bottom of the screen after pressing Enter on the "Welcome to Setup" screen. There will be some moments of files being loaded, and then you should see a message appear which says "Press F6 if you need to install a 3rd party SCSI or RAID driver". This message will only stay on the screen for a couple of seconds, so press F6 as soon as you see it appear. After this is done, you will see other messages appear, and it will act as though nothing is happening, but eventually a screen will appear which will allow you to install the drivers for the HBA or controller.
Your BIOS must support booting from a USB drive and you need to enable legesy support for USB in the BIOS. If the BIOS supports it you will have an option to select USB External HD as the first boot device. If it isn't an option then your BIOS doesn't support it. It may be possible to update to a later version that does support it.
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2005
Messages
1,269
1_rob_1 said:
Ive imaged drives in this way with no problems.
Make sure the new drive is detected in the bios and is the first to boot, failing that, re-image from the old drive, and try again.

If you have all the software needed, then the best thing to do is as KingCody says, 'do a full format, then perform a fresh install of your operating system, then copy the non-system files you want from your old drive'

RE: this post.
I Missed your point that you were using a usb enclosure.
The way I ghost drives is to physically connect both drives to an ide cable as master & slave, boot from a ghost recovery floppy disk, then literally just copy drive to drive.
This way is probably the easiest and quickest way for you.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top