Can't boot Windows XP, locks up, can't safe mode

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mc1csmo

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
20
I have desktop pc with windows xp sp2 and I'm having trouble getting to the login screen. First let me say that I have rudementary knowledge, and by saying that I mean that you will really need to explain things like you are talking to a child. I have just enough tech know-how to really get myself into trouble.

SO I tried to login today and my pc locked up. I did a power down and upon restart it stayed on the Windows XP screen endlessly, so I powered down again. This time I got to the screen where it said that something went wrong and I needed to choose to either enter safe mode, safe mode with networking, safe mode with command prompt, start form last working config or start windows as normal.

None of these work. If I do as normal, I'm back at the endless Windows XP screen. If I try any of the others I get a full screen of this:

multi(6)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\windows32\drivers..... After the .... there's many different options on the screen, lots of different things but all have that text proceeding it.

I can't get to a command prompt to type in some of the things I've seen I need to try from various searches. I can't get to a safe mode to anything that way. I can't get to a login in any way shape or form.

So...my next step was booting from the windows disc. I tried this, and nothing happens at all. It's not reading the disc at all, so it's not sending me to a screen where I have a choice to reinstall windows or repair, etc.

I'm not sure what other info you might need but PLEASE be detailed and handle me with kid gloves. A lot of things you might suggest I might not fully understand so please be plain and specific and give me step by step directions.

MUCH Appreciated!!!!!
 

ekim68

Mike
Joined
Jul 8, 2003
Messages
57,257
Do you know how to get into the BIOS setup in order to select the boot sequence? If you provide the model of your computer we could look it up...But, it needs to be set to recognize the CD as the primary boot to use it to repair things..
 

mc1csmo

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
20
I thought it was F8 but it didn't work. Can you direct me with detailed steps? Thx

My PC is not a specific model like Gateway or Dell, it's a gaming rig that was built for with that in mind, so it's a custom job.

Here's what it's got:

AMD Athlon 64 FX-62 Windsor 2.8GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor Model ADAFX62CSBOX
ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard
SAMSUNG SpinPoint T Series HD400LJ 400GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
SONY 16X DVD±R DVD Burner With 5X DVD-RAM Write Black IDE Model DRU120C
EVGA 640-P2-N821-AR GeForce 8800GTS 640MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP
CORSAIR XMS2 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 675 (PC2 5400) Desktop Memory Model CM2X1024-5400C4

Thanks!
 

ekim68

Mike
Joined
Jul 8, 2003
Messages
57,257
It varies on different machines. Some will indicate which key to hit to get into the BIOS setup at the initial boot before the machine goes into Windows. (Sometimes there's a line that says hit this or that key to enter setup.) On some machines it's the 'delete' key, other machines it could be F2, or F12, or even the esc key. Try those and see if you can enter the setup. Once you get there make the CDrom the first boot device.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
4
I´ve gotten that far,(for me F2) but I`m note sure what to do with the XP cd. I get it to load and then i can either reinstall or recover an installation... I`m afraid to reinstall for loosing all my programs and documents and recovering doesn`t seem to work. A note: I am using an XP professional disk and I have XP home installed. bad idea?
thanks!
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
4
driver/mup.sys

is the last thing that loads or appears to load before my safe mode freezes....
 

mc1csmo

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
20
I'll check this as soon as I get home and report back. I hope you guys also check back over the weekend. Thanks in advance for the help!
 

ekim68

Mike
Joined
Jul 8, 2003
Messages
57,257
djlera do you have the XP home CD? In regards to the XP CD, it should give you the option of repairing the current OS. That should all happen before you get into safe mode.
 

mc1csmo

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
20
I got into the BIOS, changed the order of the boot to optical first instead of HDD, and then tried to do a recovery with the disc. I typed R for repair and it sent me to a the recovery screen but ONLY gave me an option to type exit and restart, at which point I loaded to the screen that had safe mode and last working config options. I tried the config and now I'm on the eternal windows xp screen again. What did I do wrong. ?
 

mc1csmo

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
20
Ok tried this again and got to the point when I'm supposed to click Repair but instead there's a step ahead of it. It gives me the option to choose between 2 partitions I have. One is very tiny, only 8 mb. The other is huge. The only option from here is the install and I'm worried that this will overwrite and do a real install. I don't get a repair option like the steps suggest. What do do???
 

ekim68

Mike
Joined
Jul 8, 2003
Messages
57,257
Are you referring to what Flags posted? There is a repair function within the setup part..
 

Event3horizon

Banned
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
22
consult this much better resource to run the xp repair: http://www.windowsxpprofessional.windowsreinstall.com/installxpcdrepair/indexfullpage.htm

if you do it exactly like this don't worry about your files they wont be touched.

Make sure you remove third party hardware and components to see if they are not conflicting with windows. Personally this is something possibily wrong with your hard drive. I would run a chkdsk /r in the recovery console. Simply boot from the xp cd, press R, then in the black command prompt box type in chkdsk /r and wait 3 hours.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2001
Messages
1,930
mc1: Confusing ain't it? You are supposed to continue as if you're going to reinstall XP on the larger of the two partitions (your original C: drive).
The process will load some files and finally you will get a screen offering a Repair option. That's when you select it.
The first Repair option gets you into the Recovery Console where you can use some commands to make specific repairs to parts of your system.
The second Repair option takes over your machine and repairs the OS to the OOB (out of box) state.
You may have to insert your XP disk in case of some missing file that is on the disk, but missing or corrupt in the OS on your machine.
Bite the bullet and get on with it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top