1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't boot Xp

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Prodigal Son, Jan 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Prodigal Son

Prodigal Son Thread Starter

Hi,

I have been using my SN95G5 for about 4 months now and i havent had many issues with it.

After the various bios update i assumed the heat issues would be fixed. When playing games (Counter strike:source at the moments full settings) the fan seems to start spinning at full speed. I expect this to be normal but on the slight occasion my computer would freeze. I put this down to the computer over heating and its a fail safe to stop the hardware from getting damaged. Am i right with this assumption because a press of the reset button and the computer reboots fine. I haven't really researched this to see if anyone else is having the same problem.

As this is quite frustrating as sometimes i am doing well then the computer freezes. To combat this i downloaded speedfan to try and see if that would help control the fan better than the bios. This didnt seem to to take control of the fan or maybe i just didnt realise as i wasnt really pushing the system.

I then downloaded SISoftware Sandra to try and benchmark my system and see if there were and memory issues that caused the cpu to work extra harder than it needed to. Midway through the bench scan of my system it froze and i couldn't do anything. The fan was running low so i assumed it wasnt over heating. I decided to reset the system when it happened. Upon reboot the system couldnt load windows xp (only operating system).