Can't Bootup

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mad1

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2002
Messages
22
My Son was trying to correct a problem on our internet home page, with the help of our internet server. The last thing they told him to do was to try to run the computer from a previous date. When he restarted the computer it has two selections to start from Windows XP and C\:from a previous date. From there asks how you want to start and it go's to blue screen saying to reboot, check for viruses ,ect. At the bottom it says Stop: 0x0000007b(0x9f89640,0xc0000034,0x00000000,0x00000000). I tryed to start in safe mode to normal mode and it keeps going back to the blue screen. I have since renstalled Windows Xp. Could you please help.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,258
Hiya

After the reinstalling of Windows XP, are you still getting this problem?

Also, what is the full error? Is INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE part of the message?

If so, this points to a hardware fault. Can you get into Windows at all?

Regards

eddie
 

mad1

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2002
Messages
22
After reinstalling, Windows is working. The other part of error message asks if I installed any hard drives or any drive controllers, which I didn't and to check if the hard drive is properly configured and terminated.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,258
So I assume you're still getting the error.

Okay, go to Control Panel | System. Device manager.

Are there any yellow !'s in there? And if so, on what?

Also, when the PC is turned off, take off the case, and make sure that all the cabling for the drives are fully seated. One may have worked itself a little loose.

eddie
 

mad1

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2002
Messages
22
Went into device manager and no yellow "!". wiring is ok.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,258
Are you still getting the error? If so, can you post the full message.

Are you getting any other problems, say on bootup?

eddie
 

mad1

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2002
Messages
22
The full message reads:
A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer.
If this is the first time you've seen this error screen, restart your computer. If this screen appears again follow these steps.

check for viruses
check your hard drive to make sure it is properly configured and terminated.
remove any newly installed hard drives or hard drive controllers.
run chkdsk/f to check hard drive corruption and restart your computer.
technical information:
***stop:0x0000007b (0xf9f89640,0x0c0000034,0x00000000,0x00000000)

When chkdsk/f is run it says "can't lock current drive. chkdsk cannot run because the volume is in use by another process."

The virus [email protected] was found and deleted.
No new hard drives or controllers were installed.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2002
Messages
8
Hello,

What Anti-Virus software found this virus? I can't find a definition of it.

Sounds to me like your hard drive is on its way out or this virus has done something REALLY nasty to your computer.

However I cant say for sure because I've never had that problem, if you tell me what Virus software found it I'll look up the virus and see what can be found
 

mad1

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2002
Messages
22
Tried the removal tool but did not pickup any viruses. When I reinstalled windows I now have windows and windows.0. I believe the computer is using windows.0. Is it possible to startup in windows from windows.0. Would reformating the hard drive and reinstalling windows solve the problem.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,258
When you're booting up, do you have any options on which version of Windows to boot load, or does it go straight to the Windows desktop?

Have you tried running Chkdsk without the /f switch?

Fixing disk errors
Chkdsk corrects disk errors only if you specify the /f command-line option. Chkdsk must be able to lock the drive to correct errors. Because repairs usually change a disk's file allocation table and sometimes cause a loss of data, chkdsk sends a confirmation message similar to the following:

10 lost allocation units found in 3 chains.

Convert lost chains to files?

If you press Y, Windows saves each lost chain in the root directory as a file with a name in the format Filennnn.chk. When chkdsk finishes, you can check these files to see if they contain any data you need. If you press N, Windows fixes the disk, but it does not save the contents of the lost allocation units.

If you do not use the /f command-line option, chkdsk sends a message if a file needs to be fixed, but it does not fix any errors.

If you use chkdsk /f on a very large disk (for example, 70 gigabytes) or a disk with a very large number of files (for example, millions of files), chkdsk might take a long time (for example, over several days) to complete. The computer is not available during this time because chkdsk does not relinquish control until it is finished.
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/tr...hnet/prodtechnol/winxppro/proddocs/chkdsk.asp


Also, does it come up with the option to run at startup?

eddie
 

mad1

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2002
Messages
22
There is three options to choose from, two windows xps and c:\"Previous Operating Systemon C:". When I enter on the first xp choice it goes to the desktop. The other two go to the blue error screen. I used the F8 key and tryed the options for the last two choices and ended back at the blue error screen. When I ran CHKDSK it said there were no problems but also said 32KB in bad sectors.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,258
Go to the option that works.

Go to Start | Find Files, and search on the entire Drive, for

boot.ini

When its found, copy/paste the contents here.

eddie
 

mad1

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2002
Messages
22
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS.0
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS.0="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect
C:\="Previous Operating System on C:"
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top