Can't change default program

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jozo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 11, 2015
Messages
156
Lately my computer won't open pictures to view with Windows Photo Viewer.

I've already read several threads on this and have tried the customary links that are supposed to do this.

When I go the the "Chooses default program" on the preview link, it stays frozen on Microsoft Picture Manager whenever I try to change it.

I've been able to open with Internet Explorer, but I would like to go back to opening files with Windows Photo Viewer. I believe that this does not need to be installed as it is already a Windows feature. (7)

Any help and ideas beyond what I have already tried are greatly appreciated.

BTW........LOVE this site!
 

donetao

Banned
Joined
Mar 17, 2015
Messages
688
Hi I don't use it to open any thing,so I don't know! What do you mean by this!!
When I go the the "Chooses default program" on the preview link, it stays frozen on Microsoft Picture Manager whenever I try to change it.
Can you attach screenshot??
 

jozo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 11, 2015
Messages
156
Hi I don't use it to open any thing,so I don't know! What do you mean by this!!

Can you attach screenshot??
It's the "choose the file you want to open with" option you get when you click "preview" above picture files.

Don't know how to do a screenshot.

Bottom line is, the customary method of changing default program for viewing is not working.

Other than this, the computer is working fine.

One other thing, am getting this message: "The Remote Procedure Call Failed"
 
Last edited:

donetao

Banned
Joined
Mar 17, 2015
Messages
688
Hi! The only thing I know is a sfc /scannow or maybe a system repair. I don't understand why you can't change what you want to open a program here (Control Panel- Default Programs)
 

jozo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 11, 2015
Messages
156
Hi! The only thing I know is a sfc /scannow or maybe a system repair. I don't understand why you can't change what you want to open a program here (Control Panel- Default Programs)
So is there a fix i can perform, or do i need a pro to look at it?
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,090
Go to one of the pictures you are trying to open with Windows photo viewer
right click the file
click properties
post the file type and what program is listed as it currently opening with


Now go Control Panel
Default programs
when that opens on main window click
associate file type or protocol with program


when that windows opens scroll down to the file type found in the first step
select it - if it is shown as Microsoft Picture Viewer
click change program on top right of window
then select from options
windows photo viewer


if that option is not shown in that window
post back results of each step please
 

jozo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 11, 2015
Messages
156
Go to one of the pictures you are trying to open with Windows photo viewer
right click the file
click properties
post the file type and what program is listed as it currently opening with


Now go Control Panel
Default programs
when that opens on main window click
associate file type or protocol with program


when that windows opens scroll down to the file type found in the first step
select it - if it is shown as Microsoft Picture Viewer
click change program on top right of window
then select from options
windows photo viewer


if that option is not shown in that window
post back results of each step please
Just did this: The pictures are JPEG and the associate file type already has Windows Photo Viewer as the current default. I can't understand why it won't open with it. Even says Windows Photo Viewer when I right clicked properties on a picture file.

Again, when I use several links to change the default program, it seems locked on Microsoft Picture Manager and won't allow me to change it to Windows Photo Viewer.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,090
have you run the system file check already suggested
the cmd is
sfc /scannow


windows button
type in search
cmd
when it appears above as command prompt - right click that and click run as admin
when the cmd window opens it should then be headed




administrator command prompt


type
sfc /scannow


then press enter
 

jozo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 11, 2015
Messages
156
have you run the system file check already suggested
the cmd is
sfc /scannow


windows button
type in search
cmd
when it appears above as command prompt - right click that and click run as admin
when the cmd window opens it should then be headed




administrator command prompt


type
sfc /scannow


then press enter
OK it is scanning now, about 12% complete..........just noticed you are in the UK. My son is heading there at this hour for a graduation trip.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,090
1. Cheers
Hope he enjoys the trip and has a good graduation ceremony

2. When you next reply there is no need to post back to me what I have posted to you
It is of no benefit
Please just click reply and not quote


3. I am about to sign off it is 0137


4. If it reports all in order simply close the cmd prompt window



5. If it reports some errors could not be fixed
please exit out of cmd prompt


REBOOT
and run it again
if still some errors could not be fixed
do the same so that you have then run it three times
If it is the same report on the last it is not going to fix them




6. IF it reports it has fixed some errors - try photo viewer again - However I do not expect it to work


7. Please then go windows start button
Computer
C Drive
Program Files
scroll down to Windows Photo Viewer
right click that entry
click if available - restore previous versions
a window will open


Post please the date of earliest entry shown - do not attempt any fix from there it will not work


8. I will pick up when I return about 1800
 

jozo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 11, 2015
Messages
156
It went to 80% then stopped and eventually said there was a problem. I will try the solutions in your previous thread and get back to you.

Earliest date on the restore previous settings was June 5th 2015 at 3 am.

REALLY appreciate the help!

Cheers!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top