Can't Change Internet Explorer "Start Page"

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Football-Fan

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 7, 2007
Messages
5
PROBLEM
Somehow the page that I get after clicking Internet Explorer from my desktop has changed- and I can't change it to something else.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION
My original start page was http://www.att.net, but now it tries to open http://www.worldnet.att.net (which is a non-existent/invalid web page address- although it should be noted that the word "worldnet" IS used in their email address, which I have).

I have tried to change it using the process of- Tools/Internet Options/(desired page address)/Apply/OK - but without success.

When I try this process, it appears to take my new page, but when I check to verify the new start page (by Tools/Options again or by simply launching IE from my desktop), the old/bad address reappears/is still there.

WHEN DID THE PROBLEM BEGIN/WHAT CAUSED THE PROBLEM?
The "start page" problem began after installing software for DSL service (Bell South Fast Access). I had previously used AT&T Worldnet Dial Up.

ADDITIONAL THING I TRIED
My computer experience is at a beginner level, but I know that messing with the registry can cause major problems or worse...

...but FYI, I did try (with GREAT uneasiness) the following in the Registry:
Start>Run, type in regedit> OK then
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main\

The Start Page was listed as http://www.worldnet.att.net/

I tried to change it to http://www.att.net by Right Clicking on Start Page name, Modify. Then in the Edit String window, delete the http://www.worldnet.att.net/, then type http://www.att.net in the Value Data field, then click OK; then, Registry, Exit.

RESULT- After going back into the registry again to verify the change, the value for the Start Page has reverted to the old unwanted http://www.worldnet.att.net/ address!!!

COMPUTER SYSTEM INFO
OS: Windows 98 Second Edition
Browser: IE 6
Norton Anti-Virus
Webroot Spy Sweeper

SOLUTION?
Any help solving this problem so I can change my IE Start Page would be greatly appreciated.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2004
Messages
2,960
Do a search for a file called IERESET.INF and open it with notepad. Change the "Default Homepage" option to whatever you want it to be. Save the file, and "reset" your IE settings.
 

Football-Fan

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 7, 2007
Messages
5
gurutech said:
Do a search for a file called IERESET.INF and open it with notepad. Change the "Default Homepage" option to whatever you want it to be. Save the file, and "reset" your IE settings.

gurutech:

Thanks for your reply.

I tried your suggestion but I got "There are no items to show in this view" after the search.

Because I am a novice (and may have not performed your suggestion correctly), here are the steps I performed to do the search and the data entries I made:

Start>Find>Files or Folders...
In the Find ALL Files window, under the Name & Location Tab
Named: IERESET.INF
Containing text: (left blank, no entry)
Look In: (C:) (from drop down window)
Include folders (checked)

Did I do something wrong?

What should I try next?
 
Joined
May 22, 2005
Messages
7,091
In Webroot Spy Sweeper look at Shields > Internet Explorer and see if you have 'IE Hijack Shield' checked. That will prevent the home page from changing. You can change it in there by checking 'Edit IE Hijack Shield Settings'.

If you have Spybot Search & Destroy check that also because there's a setting in there to lock the IE home page.
 

Football-Fan

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 7, 2007
Messages
5
stantley said:
In Webroot Spy Sweeper look at Shields > Internet Explorer and see if you have 'IE Hijack Shield' checked. That will prevent the home page from changing. You can change it in there by checking 'Edit IE Hijack Shield Settings'.

If you have Spybot Search & Destroy check that also because there's a setting in there to lock the IE home page.

Stantley:

Thank you so much- your idea worked!

You were right, the problem was solved in Webroot Spysweeper, Shields, Internet Explorer Tab, by putting a check next to "Editing IE Hijack Shield Settings", typing in a new address in the IE Home Page field, and saving it!

Amazing (at least to a computer novice like me), that installing my DSL software could somehow get around Spysweeper and circumvent/corrupt/change the address but a user could not by going directly into the registry and trying to change it there.
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Messages
2
From Michael Hulak

Open Internet Explorer > Tools > Internet Options >
Advanced > Browsing > 14th item down and UNCHECK
- Enable Third Party Browser Extensions
Close Internet Explore and reopen

- MSCONFIG -> services -> check HIDE ALL MICROSOFT SERVICES -> disable all non microsoft services
- MSCONFIG -> startup applications -> disable all
- download ShellExView and open -> sort the column for Company and disable ALL non Microsoft items

- add/remove programs -> uninstall everything and anything that says TOOLBAR

- HKEY_USERS\((((YOUR S.I.D.))))\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main\Start Page = http://www.att.net
- HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main\Start Page = http://www.att.net

- if this changes still, perform an audit on the key, Microsoft KB - 315416 (VOICEWARMUP)
- let the homepage toggle and check event viewer to see what changed the key, ilkely ATT software or ToolBar.

- if it is the ATT software giving the problem, open a trouble ticket with them
- if not, you understand your operating system Windows 98 is long out of the software lifecycle and could very well be the cause of your problem. Here is a link of Microsoft Software LifeCycles http://support.microsoft.com/gp/lifesupsps#Windows

Michael Hulak
Microsoft Enterprise Platform Support
From Michael Hulak
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top