Cant change my background

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

soniq

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 26, 2003
Messages
578
Merry christmas yall,i gotta problem,in my dispay properties in the desktop section i cant change the background and the browse button is gray and i cant click on it,help?
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2005
Messages
1,469
Try the following:

First create a 'restore point'.

Then copy and paste the following text into Notepad:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer]
"NoActiveDesktopChanges"=dword:00000000
"NoThemesTab"=dword:00000000

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System]
"NoDispBackgroundPage"=dword:00000000
"NoDispAppearancePage"=dword:00000000
"NoDispSettingsPage"=dword:00000000
"NoDispScrSavPage"=dword:00000000
"Wallpaper"=-


Save the file to your Desktop as desktop.reg - Don't save as a .txt file. Now you should see an icon on your desk that looks like a bunch of blocks and has the name desktop.reg under it. If you see it, double click on it. A box will popup and say you are making changes to the registry, do you want to do this? Click yes and the changes will be made.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2003
Messages
1,281
In display properties, try this.

Click Desktop then the Customize desktop tab, select the Web tab and clear all entries except "My Current Home Page" Click OK.

Let us know if that helps.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2005
Messages
1,469
restore point?

I mentioned creating a restore point just in case something goes awry; always a good idea before making changes to the registry.

Did you try the fix?
 

soniq

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 26, 2003
Messages
578
i did a spybot scan yesterday and fixed some problems and now it seems to be working thanx yall ill let u know if i have any problems
 
Joined
May 4, 2008
Messages
1
Hi Guys
I just came across this very problem and the fix mentioned worked.
Can anyone tell me why it happened in the first place
Cheers
Tigger66
 
Joined
May 20, 2007
Messages
1,562
and merry christmas to you ... oh, this is an older post :p

welcome to TSG

this is usually triggered by malware infection.

p.s. you should open your own thread in the future.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top