1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

cant change screen res win98????

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by hypnotik, Sep 23, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hypnotik

    hypnotik Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    hi there, Ive got a problem with my old mans PC! Its running win98 sec edition with a Axion CL-1566 monitor. I recently tried to upgrade it 2 XP but had a lot of problems so I decided to give up and re-install win98. Everything is fine apart from I cant change the screen resolution anymore, it wont move from 800x600 at all, and the choice of coulors is only 2 and 16 bit???? There is no PCI graphics card in the PC so I asume it uses onboard graphics. I downloaded a driver for the monitor (inf. file) it took it ok but still not possible to change screen res or get high colour. I'm pretty much well stuck so any help would be most appreciated. Is it something to do with the display adaptor?? Thanx Richy. great idea 4 a site by the way.
     
  2. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    Howdy hypnotik...

    Yes what you need are the Video drivers, if you don't know the Video or chipest drivers, go here Aida32, Download and install Aida32, it should tell you what you have...

    Also is this a name brand pc ( eg: Dell, Compaq ) ?

    If so post the make and model #...
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,417
    First Name:
    Frank
    Hypnotik:

    That computer no doubt has an "on-board" display adapter. Is there a sticky label on the front or side of the computer case that tells you what it is?

    Right-click My Computer, then click Properties - Device Manager(tab). Click the + in Display Adapters. What does it list there?

    You are going to have to reinstall the video drivers(preferably any updated ones), but you need to know first what display adapter it has.

    Like JediMaster already said, if you post the brand name, model name, and model number of that computer, it will be a big help.


    Frank's Windows 95/98 Tips
     
  4. hypnotik

    hypnotik Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    cheers 4 the help, it seems to have a standard PCI graphics adapter (VGA). do i just do a serch 4 drivers for this device then?
     
  5. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    No...actually you need to find out which video you have "standard PCI graphics adapter " is a generic driver...

    Use the Aida32 utility I posted above, it will tell you which video you have...
     
  6. Krall

    Krall

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    Jedi is right, you may be able to get it to switch to a higher resolution using the standard adapter but you will not be utilizing the full capabilities of your video if you use this generic driver. You will be missing out on higher color rates which im sure you will miss if you are looking at any type of photos on the net or playin games. Using Jedi's utility would be the easiest way to find out what youve got "under the hood". but you could also take the cover off your pc and see where your monitor plugs into the motherboard, you will see a big black chip in that area and it should have writing on it. This is more than likley your video adapter and it should have the name of it on it.
     
  7. Cowboy622

    Cowboy622

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Messages:
    781
    You might be able to find out your video adapter a couple of ways: First is to try Aida32 as suggested.

    Second is to go to Start> run> type Dxdiag and when the diagnostic box comes up click on the display tab and see what's listed;

    Third is if your monitor is plugged into a card, (and not the motherboard) open the box and visually look at the Video card for some identifying name or FCC numbers. If there's an FCC ID number on it, you can chase down the manufacturer here: http://www.fcc.gov/oet/fccid/
    Then, visit the manufacturer's web site to see what they have available for driver downloads.


    Fourth is:
    Here's a tip that jtdoom brought to our attention:
    VIDEOCARD DETECT You can run the following without opening the case to get an idea of the manufacturer and make:
    1. From a DOS prompt, Win 3.x, Win9x, WinNT, or Win2K (open a DOS window (run->command<enter> ) )
    command prompt type "debug" (without the quotes) and press Enter.
    2. A single dash will appear at which point type DC000:35 and then press Enter (DC000:50 may also work for newer cards).

    3. You may need to type D at the second dash and press Enter for more of the information to appear.

    I just looked into this D at the second dash thing. when I kept hitting D I saw things like chip revision and such appear.
    Press Q to exit

    for example on the PC I'm on now, here's what you get:
    d c000:0010

    DEO ....}.....IB
    M VGA Compatible
    ........04/08/99
    ................
    .i.....H..>..>PM
    IDX.[...........
    .[..NV..........
    ....B...:...P..<

    d c000:0050

    .i.....H..>..>PM
    IDX.[...........
    .[..NV...........
    ...B...:...P..<
    q(o:.:..........
    ..Viper V770 AGP
    Video Card (C)
    1999 Diamond Mul

    so, there's a Diamond Viper V770 video card in this computer.

    Hope that helps! EDIT: type "quit" or "q" to exit the debugger


    Fifth thing to consider:is if you have onboard video, your may need to install the VIA Chipset drivers for your motherboard to get the proper colors and screen resolutions


    And last but not least Consider:

    I had a similar problem when I put in a new video card. I used the disk that came with it to provide the drivers and they were already obsolete. Even then, I downloaded newer drivers and still couldn't get it out of 16 colors. I took the video card out and tried to return it and was told that after you have the video card in, most current drivers downloaded, you need to change the adapter refresh rate. For some reason the adapter refresh rate defaults to "unknown" and as long as that's what it is set at you can't get out of 16 colors. I took the card home, reinstalled it and darn if it wasn't true. I changed the adapter refresh from "unknown" to "adapter default". apply and reboot; then changed it from "adapter default" to "optimal" and apply, and reboot. (You have to do this in increments because if you go from "unknown" to "optimal" it defaults back to "unknown". Try right clicking on desktop>properties> settings tab> advanced button> adapter tab and change it if on "unknown". Just worth a try. But keep in mind that you may need updated drivers from maker's web site.

    Hope this helps you! Good Luck!!!
     
  8. hypnotik

    hypnotik Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    hi guys, I downloaded and ran Aida32 and found in video driver I had a sis300 video driver, do I just do a serch for this and download it?
     
  9. Cowboy622

    Cowboy622

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Messages:
    781
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/166908

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice