1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cant Collect Information: System Information problem

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by jackuars, May 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jackuars

    jackuars Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    "Cannot access the Windows Management Instrumentation Software. Windows management files may be moved or missing"

    This is the error that i get when accessing system information built into the system tools.!!:confused:

    Any solutions for the above problem??Thanks for any kind of help in advance....:)
     
  2. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,712
    Click start>run>type
    services.msc
    And check that..
    Event Log
    Windows Management Instrumentation
    Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    Are set to run Automatically.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/323209
     
  3. jackuars

    jackuars Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    yup all are set to run automatically...What worries me is that RPC is given logged on as local system account and not with a particular account or password! Is this a problem?
     
  4. jackuars

    jackuars Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    As i close System information i get an Internet Explorer Script error
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
  5. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
  6. jackuars

    jackuars Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    @Elvandil:i have reuploaded it..and am using siw now
     
  7. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    That's better.

    Do you get any script errors elsewhere, like when surfing the net?

    Have any registry "cleaners" or system optimizers been used?
     
  8. jackuars

    jackuars Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Well i use Ccleaner and Advanced System Optimizer...no i dont think i get this script error elsewhere
    by the i was unable to use ie7 and ie8 becoz it flashes and quits...am using ie6 now...i know its vulnerable.
     
  9. jackuars

    jackuars Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    i dont use ie to surf the net
     
  10. moper

    moper

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,657
    If you deleted all index.dat files, this could cause System Information to stop working.
    Check this folder:C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\HelpCtr\OfflineCache
    Is there an index.dat file in there?


    moper
     
  11. jackuars

    jackuars Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    ya there is an index.dat file and a professional_32#0409 some folder
    but the index.dat file is defaultly set to open with kmp-mpeg ???!!
     
  12. jackuars

    jackuars Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Guys no other suggestions!!!???
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/922984

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice