1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't connect after reloading Windows

Discussion in 'Networking' started by sdgirljoyce, Nov 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sdgirljoyce

    sdgirljoyce Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    This relates to the above problem & may be of some assistance in finding a cure for this issue.
    Please tell me Notsosmart1 if this accurately describes your issue.
    If anyone can help I will be forever in thanks!:D :D

    This problem happened to me the last time I did a reformat months ago.
    Sadly, I do not remember how it was fixed. (as it took me FOREVER:mad: )
    I did a reformat last week, and it is happening to me again.
    So if this has been fixed Notsosmart1, please do post how it was done.
    It is not the Network card.
    I did try every fix listed here so far. (and no luck for me)
    In my case DHCP is enabled but will not start. I get an error 1068.
    When I check dependencies afd is listed, although I do not have this listed as a service at all.
    (It is in my system32 folder)

    I have a hunch this is the exact same problem, and if so the fix will help both of us. (and the others with these systems...lol when they reformat)
    If I need to post this information in a separate post, I will gladly do so.
    After encountering this problem I did another complete reformat & it did not help either.

    This is all what is wrong in my services file.
    In services, this is what it says:

    1. In Application management, when I try to start it says: cannot be found.

    2. Computer Browser, clicked start but stopped right away.

    3. DHCP Client error 1068

    4. Human Access Interface device: Error 1068

    5. Net Logon, clicked start but stopped right away

    6. Perm. logs, clicked start but stopped

    7. TCP/IP Net BIOS, error 1068

    8. Uninterrupted Power Supply, clicked start & message popped up saying this device is not configured correctly & cannot start.

    9. afd.sys cannot be found

    Report for me:

    Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller

    Network Adapter Properties:
    Network Adapter Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller
    Interface Type Ethernet
    Hardware Address 00-0F-1F-5F-50-1E
    Connection Name Local Area Connection
    Connection Speed 100 Mbps
    MTU 1500 bytes
    DHCP Lease Obtained 12/31/1969 4:00:01 PM
    DHCP Lease Expires 12/31/1969 4:00:01 PM
    Bytes Received 534768 (522.2 KB)
    Bytes Sent 0

    Network Adapter Addresses:

    Network Adapter Manufacturer:
    Company Name Broadcom Corporation
    Product Information http://www.broadcom.com/products
    Driver Download http://www.broadcom.com/support/downloaddrivers.php


    PCI / PnP Network

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    Device Description Type
    Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Ethernet Controller PCI

    Network adapters:
    Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller 3.63.0.0
    Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller - Packet Scheduler Miniport 5.1.2535.0
    Direct Parallel 5.1.2535.0
    WAN Miniport (IP) 5.1.2535.0
    WAN Miniport (IP) - Packet Scheduler Miniport 5.1.2535.0
    WAN Miniport (L2TP) 5.1.2535.0
    WAN Miniport (PPPOE) 5.1.2535.0
    WAN Miniport (PPTP) 5.1.2535


    Thank you so much if you can be of ANY assistance!
    I hope this helps you as well Notsosmart1!

    Take care,
    Joy
     
  2. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    Not cool to hijack threads, but, did you reinstall all the drivers for your devices? ChipSet, Video, Audio, NIC, Wireless, etc????>
     
  3. sdgirljoyce

    sdgirljoyce Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    5

    Did not mean to "hijack thread", guess I am not up to speed on board manners.:(
    (Seriously, I am sorry if I stepped on someones toes)
    After about a week of this problem I was excited it wasn't just me.
    I believe this is the same exact issue & would help the original poster to not give up.
    After complete format I did install drivers in the correct order.
    I did also find information that this is a known error possible with XP SP 2.
    It's just that nothing is fixing it & I am getting frustrated.
    Again, I can post this in a separate thread. (Just was not sure if I needed too)
    Thanks so much for answering.:)

    Joy
     
  4. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    If none of the devices are working (Video, Audio, LAN, ect) then you need to install the ChipSet drivers.
     
  5. sdgirljoyce

    sdgirljoyce Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    5

    I may not have explained correctly.
    I did install the Chipset & all drivers as specified by Dell.
    Everything is working, except the internet connection.

    Thanks again for answering.

    Joy:)
     
  6. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    First of all, this is not a "known XPSP2 issue". SP2 is stable and reliable.
    Please post the reulsts of an ipconfig /all and alos the type of equipment involved (routers, modems, etc)
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Even though it appears you're having the same problem, please start a new thread when you have a new issue. It's very difficult to keep two problems straight and who's working on what in a single thread.

    I've created a new thread for your issue here.

    Note: You will need to post complete details of your configuration and your specific issue in this new thread for us to help you.

    Thanks for your cooperation.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/650928

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice