Can't connect anymore to Outlook Express

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

palacie

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2001
Messages
31
Since I had to reinstall Internet Explorer awhile back, due to a crash, nothing has worked the same with Outlook Express. I used to be able to transfer automatically when connected to my ISP, to Outlook. Since reinstalling IE5.5, when I tried to open OE, I got an error message: Unable to get the Dial-up Network information needed to dial Surfbest Internet Services". When I clicked "OK", it would then dial my ISP, even tho I was already connected to it. A few days ago, I saw that the telephone # in Outlook didn't have the required *70 to disable call waiting. So, dumb me, added that, thinking maybe that would fix my ongoing problem. Ever since, I can't connect to Outlook Express at all and when I connect to my ISP it now has added an EXTRA '70' to the dial-up #. I tried to modify it and it will accept the change once and allow me to log on to the network but the next time, there it is again. I went to Dial-Up Networking and all looks correct there. I checked the Control Panel for Mail & Telephony settings and that was ok too. Today, I got a call from someone saying that my phone is dialing HER # and if I don't stop harrassing her, she'll report me to the Police Department! Sorry this is so long; didn't know how to make it shorter. Can somebody, PLEASE, HELP?
 

palacie

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2001
Messages
31
Hi Doyce....I believe I changed the number while in Outlook Express but my mistake transferred itself to my SurfBest connection on the desktop. Now, I can't find anyplace in Outlook Express where I can change the number back to where it was. Yes, in IE, Outlook is listed as the default mail server. I tried that link you suggested but there was nothing there which applied to my problem. Do you think it might solve the problem if I deleted SurfBest in Dial-up Networking and set up a new connection with the correct number? Thanks so much for trying to help me.
 

palacie

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2001
Messages
31
Sorry, I forgot to say that "work offline" in Outlook Express is NOT checked.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
In IE, go to tools>internet options>connections>settings>properties>change the phone number.

Internet Explorer 5.x/6.x comes with a repair tool. To use to it, go to the Add/Remove Programs Control Panel; Scroll and click to highlight 'Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.x' in the Install/Uninstall window; Then click on the Add/Remove button; Select 'Repair' the current installation of Internet Explorer radio button; Click on OK.
 

palacie

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2001
Messages
31
Yes, all was correct in Internet Explorer. How about deleting my connection in Dial-Up Networking and setting up a new one with the correct number? Would that work? Thanks, again.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2001
Messages
66
bring up oe, go to tools-accounts-and click the mail tab. from there click properties and click the connection tab at the top and remove the check from always connect to this account using.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top