1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't connect, please help me! [URGENT]

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Viktor1995, Dec 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Viktor1995

    Viktor1995 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Hello!

    I can't connect on 1 of my computers.
    I have a Ice.Net D-35 router.

    On one of the computers I am able to connect to the internet
    but not the other one.

    I think the TCP/IP settings is the problem.
    I scanned the computer that can't connect with antivirus & malware programs.
    Found many kind of viruses and took them all to quarantine.

    I used microsoft's Fix it TM, to fix TCP/IP and attempted to restore the host file in windows32.
    So I belive the host file is good, but the TCP/IP did not change.

    I also tryed to set "assaign an IP adress automaticly" and tryed to put a custom one.
    Nothing worked.

    When I write ping localhost in cmd, it succesfully pings it.
    And the results are that I get 4 and send 4 = 100%

    But when I attempted to ping the IP I had one time it said:

    can't connect to the DHCP server or something like that...

    SUMMERY:

    Can connect with the router on 1 computer but not the other 1.
    My router: Ice.Net D-35
    It's succesfully ping the local host.

    NOTE:
    My spelling is not perfect because I'm from sweden.

    Please help me, I don't want to re-install the computer or send it to microsoft...
    That would cost to much...

    Please!
     
  2. karlhaywood

    karlhaywood Account Closed

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    680
    Login into the router and enable the DHCP server. If the router has any turbo or speedbooster TURN IT OFF! if after fixing or allowing the above you still cant connect disable the encryption and try and connect. If you connect this way, then try the WPA encryption again.
     
  3. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,989
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Hi and welcome to TSG.

    Assuming you have more than one computer on the network, they are running MS-Windows, please ...

    1) Let us know if they are all using wired or wireless connections or some combination (I can't quickly find any English documentation for the Ice.Net D-35)

    2) Check the Windows Hardware Device Manager on the problem computer and let us know if your networking hardware is listed without any warnings or errors.

    3) If the device manager does not show any issues, open a command (DOS command) screen on the problem computer and enter an IPCONFIG /ALL command. You will need to select, copy and paste the results into a text file then find a way to transfer the file (burn to CD or save to USB drive) to a computer with a working connection. Repeat the command on a computer with a working connection. Reply to this thread with the results of both IPCONFIG /ALL reports (be sure to identify which is which).
     
  4. Viktor1995

    Viktor1995 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    karlhaywood: I think the DCHP is enabled cause I can connect with the router on another PC.

    1. Both wired
    2. The device manager: PCI MODEM Drivers not installed...
    How do I install PCI MODEM drivers if there is no connection?

    3.. you said IF the device manager does not show anything...
     
  5. karlhaywood

    karlhaywood Account Closed

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    680
    Open Command Prompt and type ipconfig/all and copy and paste the results on here.
     
  6. Viktor1995

    Viktor1995 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corporation

    C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator>ipconfig /all

    IP-konfiguration för Windows

    Värddatornamn . . . . . . . . . . : B
    Primärt DNS-suffix . . . . . . . :
    Nodtyp . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP-routning aktiverat . . . . . . : Nej
    WINS-proxy aktiverat . . . . . . : Nej

    Ethernet-kort Anslutning till lokalt nätverk:

    Medietillstånd . . . . . . . . . . : Mediet är frånkopplat
    Beskrivning . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Fysisk adress . . . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-8C-05-9F-D6

    C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator>ipconfig /all

    IP-konfiguration för Windows

    Värddatornamn . . . . . . . . . . : B
    Primärt DNS-suffix . . . . . . . :
    Nodtyp . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP-routning aktiverat . . . . . . : Nej
    WINS-proxy aktiverat . . . . . . : Nej

    Ethernet-kort Anslutning till lokalt nätverk:

    Anslutningsspecifika DNS-suffix . :
    Beskrivning . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Fysisk adress . . . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-8C-05-9F-D6
    DHCP aktiverat . . . . . . . . . : Ja
    Autokonfiguration aktiverat . . . : Ja
    IP-adress . . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Nätmask . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Standard-gateway . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP-server . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255

    C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator>
     
  7. Viktor1995

    Viktor1995 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    I really thought techguy would help me, but I just try another forum then :(
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,246
    First Name:
    Terry
    You got two responses within 16 minutes of starting your thread and you are disappointed? Well, don't let the door hit you on the way out. If you are abandoning this site please state that in your third thread on this same topic so that nobody wastes more time replying to you.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/971012

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice