1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't connect to a wireless network...

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Avectius, Oct 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Avectius

    Avectius Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    279
    ...despite everything being set up properly. Allow me to elaborate.

    The network itself is fine, as both my desktop computer and the laptop can access it. We have, however, another laptop that is having trouble connecting to the network.

    The network key has already been entered into the "properties" tab, and the proper security type has also been selected (WPA with AES) so in short, the two computers have no issue whatsoever when connecting to it, but when I attempt to do it on the other laptop, it always comes up saying "Windows cannot connect to the network"

    I tried the troubleshooting feature but to no avail.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.
     
  2. ETech7

    ETech7

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    893
    What's the model and OS of that laptop?
     
  3. Avectius

    Avectius Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    279
    ASUS EeePC1225B

    Windows 7 Home Premium
     
  4. somethingunreal

    somethingunreal

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Perhaps re-adding he network will help you.

    Go to Start > Control Panel > Network and Internet > Network and Sharing Center > On the left side there is an option Manage Wireless Networks, click it. Remove the network SSI your are having issues with. Reboot just to be safe. Connect to it like you would any other device.

    Hope this helps.
     
  5. Avectius

    Avectius Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    279
    Still having the issue.
     
  6. Avectius

    Avectius Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    279
    Bumpity
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page (don't collapse the Radar, Connection or Signal History) of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. If your only email accounts are free (Hotmail, gmail, etc.) try this direct link. If you need help with a screen shot see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows 8 or 7 or Vista I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.

    Identify your network if it is not obvious.

    Also show ...

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1110461

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice