1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't Connect to any Websites

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by depawl, Nov 19, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. depawl

    depawl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Messages:
    157
    I have an IBM 340 (P166) running Win95, I can dial into my ISP ok (actually I've tried 2 different ISP's) but can't access any websites. Tried both NS and IE browsers. I always get the "can't locate the server" error message. I've checked all the settings, and as far as I can tell, everything seems ok. I tried a laptop on this phone line and it connected to websites allright, so I know the problem is in the computer, not the phone line.
    Any ideas?
    Thanks.
     
  2. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Try going to Start > Programs > MS DosPrompt
    When it opens, type "ping yahoo.com" (leave the quotes off)at the prompt and hit enter on the keyboard. Record the results of the test.
    Then try "ping 216.115.109.7" (leave the quotes off)at the prompt and hit enter on the keyboard. Record the results of the test.
    The only things that will cause no surfing with either NS or IE is a third party software (firewall improperly configured or other software redirecting the proxy). Sounds like it could be the wsock32.dll, winsock.dll or winsock2 key in the registry.
    De.
     
  3. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    while what Del said is correct I also had that same problem with IE5.5 when I had Win98 on an HP pc. Try upgrading to IE6 if this you're using is IE5.5 that is if you can get to the download.

    Call your ISP. It may be the DNS problem!!

    If you have ad-aware already on board you need to run it scanning for spyware which will interfere with your browsing too & also your antivirus program should be ran.

    Hope this helped too

    Savvy :)
     
  4. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Hi SavvyLady,

    depawl said that they tried two differnet ISP's with the machine and can't surf with either, but can surf with a laptop on the same line. If the connectoid's were set up the same, including the primary and secondary DNS servers, then this should rule out the ISP.
    depawl also said that neither Netscape nor IE would surf, which should rule out the browser IE. Upgrading IE will not fix Netscape nor the communications in the Operating System.

    At this point, I would be looking for third party software such as a firewall that was configured improperly or removed while the connection was shut down, or a programs such as newdotnet or webhancer, both of which I have seen cause this problem.

    If this doesn't work, then the communications in the machince, ie: wsock32.dll, winsock.dll or winsock2 key in the registry.

    If it gets to the last option, I would think the winsock2 key is the culprit. Instructions for the winsock2 key fix is as follows:

    Please note if you are going to do this you must have installation cd or cab files.
    -Go to add and remove program | windows setup tab| take the check mark out of COMMUNICATION | click apply | when asked to reboot say no. -Click start | run | type regedit follow the path HKEY LOCAL MACHINES | system | current control set | services | winsock2 -Right clickl select delete. -Go to add remove programs | windows setup | put check in COMMUNICATIONS | when asked to reboot say yes, After rebooting, try to browse.

    Del
     
  5. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Hi Del,

    That's a really short Winsock2 fix you have there.

    I've constructed a little standard text myself, but it requires a little more work .
    Yours is much shorter and easier to apply.

    If yours' works at all times, I'd be happy if I could 'borrow' it from you... :D

    I'd be grateful If you'd take a look at mine, and tell me whether I'm indeed overdoing it.

    Here it is: Remove your Ethernet Card/Modem through Device Manager, and to uninstall Dial-Up Networking in Software Add/Remove/Windows Setup/Communication.
    Now FIRST back up your registry: Go to Start/Run, type Scanregw, followed by 'enter'. Choose 'yes', when you're offered to back up your registry.
    Open the Registry Editor through Start/run/Regedit
    Drill down to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\WinSock and WinSock2 and delete the entire Winsock subkey. Do the same with the Winsock2 subkey

    Close Regedit and Reboot. Windows will find new hardware (your Ethernet card/Modem) and will want to install the driver, so keep your Windows CD-ROM/Driver for your NIC/Modem ready.
    After installing the driver and rebooting, reinstall Dial Up Networking again.


    Are you positive you don't need to remove/reinstall the modem/ethernetcard?


    Greetz,
     
  6. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Hi Tony,
    I've done this for over 2 years and everyone one I know does it this way. Many times with Windows, you have a tough time getting the NIC driver reinstalled so we avoid this whenever we can. Sometimes rather then delete the winsock2 folder itself, I rename it to something like winsock2zz.
    If you hit the plus sign to the left of the original winsock2 folder, you'll see parameters and if you click on it you will see 4 items listed. After removing or renaming the winsock2 folder windows will create a new one, but will only have 2 items under the parameters. Adding back dial up networking or the entire communication package will add the extra items and you will surf if that was the problem. In win 98 it sometimes takes the win98 c.d. to find the files when you add communications back.
    In Windows ME, I have done the entire process in under a minute and fixed the problem. I did this many times on my computer in WinME and actually didn't even reboot and fixed it, but the reboot was the way I was taught, so I normally do it.

    One last thing, if using Win95, there is one additions fix that I didn't mention before:
    If win 95 can try this
    -Open windows explorer and excute the ws2bakup.bat which is in ws2bakup folder. -Reboot the PC into DOS MODE , Go to ws2bakup and type ws2bakup.bat. EXAMPLE(c:\windows\ws2bakup\ws2bakup.bat) -Reboot again and that should fix the routing table problem.

    Hope this helps you,
    Del
     
  7. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Hi Del,

    Thanks a Mil for the 'heads up'.

    It's a lot simpler than 'my' solution, and I think this will benefit a lot of people.

    Cheers,
     
  8. nigelmoat

    nigelmoat

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Del,

    I too have suffered with the dreaded 'Can not connect to Server' message on all my ISP's and Browsers. Thankfully your fix seems to have worked for me.

    I carried out the registry edit referred to further up as well as running the batch file ws2bakup.bat

    All is OK now, except that when I boot up my PC I get the error message......

    RUNDLL
    Error Loading C:\WINDOWS\NEWDOT~2.dll
    One of the library files needed to run this application cannot be found.

    I click OK, and have no problems running any programs or connecting to the Internet. However, you also mentioned NEWDOTNET. Is this the same program and is there somethig else I should be doing ?

    Thanks in anticipation, Nigel Moat
     
  9. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Yes, this is the one, and it's a so called Spyware program.

    Do this:

    First go to Start/run, and type Msconfig. Go to the startup tab, uncheck New.Net application, and click OK.
    Now reboot, and the program will not load again with Windows, preventing the recurrence of your error message.

    Now go to Software add/remove, and remove New.Net application there.

    Don't attempt to remove the dll manually, because that may cause the loss of your internet connectivity.

    IMore info: http://www.cexx.org/newnet.htm


    Good luck,
     
  10. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Hi,
    Normally when new.net is uninstalled correctly, you don't get the message that it's trying to load that dll. Usually when I run into that one, you find the program in add/remove programs, but you can't uninstall it because someone deleted part of it.
    Here's a link that explains a lot about it.
    http://www.cexx.org/newnet.htm
    Good luck,
    Del
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/59061

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice