1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't connect to ethernet while being able to connect to WIFI

Discussion in 'Networking' started by aigroti, Oct 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. aigroti

    aigroti Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Hey guys! I'm new to this forum and wasn't 100% sure where to post this question but I decided to put it here as it seems to be where most people have had internet queries.

    I'm a bit perplexed at the moment. For the last few days I've been trying to somehow fix my internet problem. I scoured other forums for similar questions and tried all the things they've said and still had no luck so I've run out of options and decided to set up this account and ask myself.

    I have a virgin media super hub 2. Recently the ethernet cable wouldn't connect, I tried other ethernet cables to see if it was due to me breaking it and no luck. Not sure if it's a coincidence or not but at the same time I also wasn't able to connect to the 5ghz supplied by the router. So I'm left with 2.4ghz wireless at the moment. My friend also can't connect to the 5ghz on the router so it might be something to do with the router rather than my laptop but I'm not sure what would have caused it in the last few days (it's a new router/hub too, only about a month old).

    I think generally you're supposed to post your ipconfig? Which I'll post if asked

    I've tried flushing the DNS, ipconfig/renew, release etc. So i'm really stuck for ideas.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    74,515
    Is any other computer able to connect via ethernet?

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  4. aigroti

    aigroti Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Hi Terrynet! thanks for helping with my problem. Here's my ipconfig

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Amaan-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8151 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Con
    troller (NDIS 6.20)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 5C-26-0A-52-70-83
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2c36:2f1d:232a:160f%53(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.22.15(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 895231498
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-0C-7F-56-24-77-03-0C-C6-B0

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter #
    2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 24-77-03-0C-C6-B1
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 24-77-03-0C-C6-B1
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Ultimate-N 6300 AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 24-77-03-0C-C6-B0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::79f0:1cae:5cb9:35dd%13(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 16 October 2013 19:40:26
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 17 October 2013 19:40:26
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 186939139
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-0C-7F-56-24-77-03-0C-C6-B0

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 90-00-4E-DB-A5-2B
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{120BCF97-4135-4B62-B3B0-5649D0F98EB1}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{1A2B8982-1B50-4CCD-A852-4C1E16C36393}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #5
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    I'm asking a friend if the ethernet cable works for his computer I'll update this post in about an hour when he tries.
    +update+ it works fine for him, so it's definitely my computer.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    74,515
    Could possibly still be the cable. Your gigabit ethernet uses all eight wires while 10/100 Mbps ethernet (which may be what your friend has) uses only 4.

    Possibly a mis-configured or corrupted firewall (or security suite), but unlikely given that the wireless connects.

    In case the installed ethernet driver is corrupted use Device Manager to uninstall it; restart the PC and let Windows discover the adapter and reinstall the driver.

    Could be that the NIC is having trouble negotiating a speed with the router. In Device Manager right click on the ethernet - Properties - Advanced tab - for the Speed & Duplex property try different values beginning with 100 Mbps full duplex and 10 Mbps full duplex. Change it back to 'Auto' if none of these work.
     
  6. aigroti

    aigroti Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    aah, I'm afraid none of those things worked.

    I'm going to get a new ethernet cable in a few days so I'll report back then if that changes anything.
     
  7. aigroti

    aigroti Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Okay, so I got a brand new Ethernet cable and the problem still persists so I'm really unsure on how to fix this now.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    74,515
    With everything that you have tried, including the other computer connecting OK, I want to say that your ethernet controller is defective. The only thing holding me back a little is the simultaneous trouble with the 5 GHz wireless.

    Can you try connecting to somebody else's network? If you can't test that way ...

    If the virgin media super hub 2 is yours I suggest to try another ethernet adapter and/or make sure you have the latest router firmware and then reset it to factory defaults and reconfigure.

    If the virgin media super hub 2 is your ISP's I suggest to try another ethernet adapter and/or try to get the ISP to replace the critter (tell them of the ethernet and 5 GHz troubles).
     
  9. spike47

    spike47

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Hi

    Thanks for that info , set mine to 10Mbps full duplex and bingo connected , I would definatley not have found out how to do that .

    thanks a million spike , just a note will setting it at 10 be less speed than 100 for my internet connection !! .
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    74,515
    Depends on your internet access speed, Spike. If you normally get more than 10 Mbps that setting will cap you at 10.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1110822