1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't connect to http://192.168.0.1

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mommaszoo, Nov 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mommaszoo

    mommaszoo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I have a actiontec pk5000. my wireless light is on but still cannot connect a laptop or the nintendo wii. When i try to go to http:192.168.0.1 like centurylink tells me to do on their set up guide, it will not connect. I have tried for several days. The phone company is no help. Am I doing something wrong? i even tried putting a / behind it as someone told me to do but that didnt do anything either. Is there anything else I can try?
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,557
    If the computer connected to the router is running Windows please show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. mommaszoo

    mommaszoo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : eaves-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : domain.actdsltmp

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain.actdsltmp
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : F0-4D-A2-F8-4E-8A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::61c5:2abc:f5f3:f9ee%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.3(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, November 13, 2011 5:43:27 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, November 25, 2011 5:23:16 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 250629538
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-8E-B3-87-F0-4D-A2-F8-4E-8A

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    205.171.3.25
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.domain.actdsltmp:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain.actdsltmp
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:3455:1fe2:b452:4aea(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3455:1fe2:b452:4aea%14(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Users\eaves>
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,557
    I was hoping to find something "dumb" there and be able to give a simple answer. No such luck. What exactly happens when you try to access it via browser?

    Try pinging the router. In case you need directions, in a Command prompt type

    ping 192.168.0.1

    You should get 4 replies.
     
  5. mommaszoo

    mommaszoo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    sometimes it just says cannot connect to server, once today i got it to say "actiontec" on the window tab but it goes nowhere from there. Other times it says it times out. I will try to ping it and let you know what happens, thanks so much.
     
  6. mommaszoo

    mommaszoo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    OH and sometimes it says "the connection was reset"
     
  7. jiml8

    jiml8 Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,634
    Try unplugging the power from the router, waiting a few seconds, then plugging it back in.

    The router is working since it is your DHCP server and you have an IP address, and since you can go on the net. But its onboard webserver is not working. This might be fixed by a simple reboot. If that doesn't fix it, then given that everything in the router is in firmware and hence totally unserviceable, it is probably time to replace it.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1027613