1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't connect to internent, HELP!!!!

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by pmt0512, Apr 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pmt0512

    pmt0512 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Excuse me, my laptop was attacked by antivirus soft spyware this morning, I tried to look up online and deleted it manually and with anti-spyware programs like spydoctor and norton anti-virus. But now, after restarting the laptop, the antivirus soft didnt pop up anymore, but I can't connect my Internet Explorer or any messenger program with the internet, but still the firefox can. Not sure what happen here, I even tried to use Norton remove tool to remove my norton but still, no can't go on internet with IE or log into my yahoo messenger (except firefox can). Please help me with this, thanks a lot
     
  2. oksteve

    oksteve

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    941
    have you tried system restore ?
     
  3. chippynut

    chippynut

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Are you sure you had a virus, Norton can be a pain and prevent you from connecting to the web, have a look through the threads in w7,and vista etc, last sunday i got locked out of w7 on a one day old laptop and some one else had the same problem until we uninstalled norton then we got back on line ok, Try not to panic some one on this site will help.;)
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Please click here to download and install version 2.0.2 of the HijackThis Installer.

    Run it and select Do a system scan and save a logfile.

    The log will be saved in Notepad. Copy and paste the log in your next post.

    Do not fix anything
     
  5. huggie54

    huggie54

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,637
    try this
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Dumoski

    Dumoski

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    I have a similar problem with my HP laptop. Only my Firefox and Opera works. Many other programs like Yahoo Msgr, Free Download manager etc stopped working. Pls, should I post my own log from my scan too?
     
  7. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Dumoski,

    Please start a new thread. We do not want to confuse the original poster nor members trying to help him/her.

    Thank you for understanding.
     
  8. Dumoski

    Dumoski

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    ok, no problem. tanx
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918863

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice