1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cant connect to internet through wireless or ethernet cable.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by chwallace1028, May 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. chwallace1028

    chwallace1028 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    So I have been unable to use the internet on my labtop for months. I have another labtop that works fine and a ipod touch that connects through wireless that works fine. I replaced the wireless card itself so I was able to rule that out. Please help me getting it working again. This is what i get when i run ipconfig/all

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Chad>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Chad-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Con
    nection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-77-9B-A1-3D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::705f:7ad:df95:6942%9(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.105.66(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-24-79-83-FC
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 26:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{5D397078-D39D-4699-93C7-15D8C45D7
    02E}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 21:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{5F65C9C6-74BA-41CE-927B-79616BFA1
    1A0}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{653D272E-1F1C-4D39-A6EC-5A50A4C49
    A58}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{3B9FB75C-08B4-4A01-A7F9-EBC379663
    D69}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{15F072DE-A47C-4CC0-AED5-C79870D6F
    E3D}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 15:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{9F6DFEB0-A554-42A1-A87C-682947175
    CA7}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 16:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 17:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{126BF4D7-7E28-42E9-9755-615784347
    29A}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 20:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    PLEASE HELP!!!!
     
  2. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    95,753
    First Name:
    Mark
    Sounds like it may be a winsock issue. Try this:

    To repair and reset the Windows Vista winsock

    1. Click on Start button.
    2. Type Cmd in the Start Search text box.
    3. Press Ctrl-Shift-Enter keyboard shortcut to run Command Prompt as Administrator. Allow elevation request.
    4. Type netsh winsock reset in the Command Prompt shell, and then press the Enter key.
    5. Restart the computer.
    What netsh winsock reset command does are it resets Winsock Catalog to a clean state or default configuration. It removes all Winsock LSP (Layered Service Providers) previously installed, including the potential malfunctioned LSP that causes loss of network packets transmission failure. So all previously-installed LSPs must be reinstalled. This command does not affect Winsock Name Space Provider entries.
     
  3. chwallace1028

    chwallace1028 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    I went through all of these steps it said that it was successfully reset. Tried to connect to the internet and still not working any other suggestions I need help Ive tried everything I know its been almost 3 months with it not working, please help. Thank you
     
  4. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    95,753
    First Name:
    Mark
    Are you trying to connect cabled first? Rather than wireless? The above ipconfig indicates that the Ethernet cable is disconnected.
     
  5. chwallace1028

    chwallace1028 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    the etherent cable is plugged into the router i typed ipconfig/all on the comp that is not woring then saved it on notepad then to a card then moved it to my comp that is working and pasted it on my post. so im trying to connect wirelessy yes.
     
  6. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Make and model of modem and router?
    Look at device manager/and look at the wireless adapter entry.Is it enabled and no error indicators?
    Any error msgs when you try to use this connection?
    Also,do I understand that his laptop did work in this environment at one time?
    Did it just stop or unplugged and just sitting around?
    Just for a brain check,you might disable any firewalls and disable any encryption that you may have enabled(wep/wpa).And just for another brain check,have you reset the router(hold reset button in for at least 15 seconds.)
    And the above is from a wired connection?
    Take a look at all network adapters in device manager.Looking for same as wireless.
     
  7. chwallace1028

    chwallace1028 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Its a LINKSYS WRT546 ver.6

    In device manager there isnt a wireless adaptor

    Yes my labtop worked fine here before and it just all the sudden stopped my girl friend's works just fine here

    How would I turn off a firewall and disable encrytion ?
     
  8. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Your IPconfig appears to show one as well as lan network adapters.So device manager should also show them.
    You would disable encryption through the routers network security section.Your users manual will be helpful here.
    Firewall can be turned off on the problem machine maybe control panel/firewall but that is XP and I do not have Vista,so cannot guide you there.
    Did you try a router reset?
     
  9. chwallace1028

    chwallace1028 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Yes I have done a router reset numerous times. I replaced the wireless card so I know it doesnt have anything to do with that. Any other suggestions or things I can try Ill try anything just really need to get it working aasap
     
  10. chwallace1028

    chwallace1028 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    anyone else have any ideas on how to fix it??
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Given that this is Vista, let's try the correct reset sequence and see if that works.


    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows Vista.

    Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.




    With a wired connection, I'd like to see the following after the reset.

    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output!

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/828178

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice