1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't connect to internet with win2000

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Tattoo67, Sep 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tattoo67

    Tattoo67 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    My laptop was just upgraded to win200 pro and won't connect to the Internet. I connect through a D-Link DI-704p router, my carbus is a 3Com 10/100 lan model #3ccfe575bt,I get a signal to the card letting me know there is a connection but when I look at the local area connection it tell's me that I am connected, the speed at 100mbps, then it shows that it send at 81 but does'nt receive.

    What I'm doing wrong or what should I be doing to fix this problem?

    Thank's for your help. :confused:
     
  2. compgeek101

    compgeek101

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    When you look at the connection go to the support page. Does it say "ip automatically configured" and then the ip is a 169.x.x.x number? If it is then your dhcp server is not working. Get back with more info and i may be able to help fix :)
     
  3. Tattoo67

    Tattoo67 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    I tried to ping my router and it said "destination host unreachable", then I tried ipconfig/release and I get this message " all adapters bound to dhcp do not have dhcp addresses. The addresses were automaticly configured and cannot be released."

    Thank's for your help.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    It sounds like the machine can't reach the DHCP server. Are you sure it's a good cable you're using?

    Open a DOS window and type:

    IPCONFIG /ALL >C:RESULT.TXT

    Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.
     
  5. Tattoo67

    Tattoo67 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    It say:

    windows 2000 IP Configuration

    Host Name..........................: laptop-XXXXXX
    Primary DNS Suffix................:
    Node type..........................: Broadcast
    IP Routing Enable.................: No
    WINS Proxy Enable...............: No

    Ethernet Adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix.:
    Description...........................: 3Com Megahertz 10/100 LAN CardBus PC
    Card
    Physical Address...................: 00-10-4B-F6-BA-D3
    DHCP Enable........................: Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled......: Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address..: 196.254.66.164
    Subnet Mask.......................: 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway..................:
    DNS Server.........................:

    as for my cable, I even tried the one that connect to my other computer(one that work) and to plug directly to the ADSL Modem.

    Thank"s for your help.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Something very odd is happening there, because the autoconfiguration address should have been 169.254.x.x, 196.x.x.x would not be valid there. Are you sure you didn't change anything in the copy process?

    I'd try removing everything in Network Properties, including the NIC, and reboot. Let it discover all the hardware again and see if that helps. Something is scrambled there...
     
  7. Tattoo67

    Tattoo67 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Well I'm thinking of formating the hole drive, since it's a new install I don't have anything installed yet but when I tryed before I was'nt able to do it since it's in NTFS and when I try the format line in DOS "format c:" it say "Format cannot run because the volume is in use by an other process. Format may run if this volume is dismount first. All open handle to this volume would then be invalide. Would you like to force a dismount? y/n " Then I press Y enter and I get this "cannot lock the drive. the volume is still in use.

    Thank's

    PS.: I already tried to remove all the network property and it did'nt work.
     
  8. Tattoo67

    Tattoo67 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    6
     
  9. Tattoo67

    Tattoo67 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Well I'm thinking of formating the hole drive, since it's a new install I don't have anything installed yet but when I tryed before I was'nt able to do it since it's in NTFS and when I try the format line in DOS "format c:" it say "Format cannot run because the volume is in use by an other process. Format may run if this volume is dismount first. All open handle to this volume would then be invalide. Would you like to force a dismount? y/n " Then I press Y enter and I get this "cannot lock the drive. the volume is still in use.

    Thank's

    PS.: I already tried to remove all the network property and it did'nt work.

    You can e-mail me @ [email protected]
     
  10. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    You cannot format a drive you've booted from.
     
  11. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    Sorry, hit enter too so - Format from the install CD
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/271326

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice