1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't connect to internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by clempen, May 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. clempen

    clempen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    I've accidentally deleted a file. My ISP thinks it's a network driver, but I can't find where to download just the driver. I get all kinds of scanning programs, but they need an internet connection to repair. Any advise.
    I'm currently usig a PS3 to connect & download & have attached an external hard to transfere data. The PS3 is not a fully functional computer .
    My PC is an Acer running Windows XP
    Thanks
     
  2. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    Look in Device Manager to see if the Network Adaptor is shown with a yellow ! . .
     
  3. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    We also need to know which Acer model number.
     
  4. clempen

    clempen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    There is a yellow explanation mark beside 'Moterola iDen USB modem'?
     
  5. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    Is that how you connect to the internet?

    Try deleteing it and restarting . . Windows should reload the drivers
     
  6. clempen

    clempen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    My cmputer is an Acer Aspire T325
    Main Board F6332V
    System BIOS version RO1-B2
    SMBIOS 2.3
    I've contacted the computer manufacture, but the said they did not have the driver & as my computer is no longer covered under warranty wanted $60.00 to talk to me on the phone.
     
  7. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
  8. clempen

    clempen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Which one, the 32 bit or the 64 bit?
     
  9. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    What is the operating system? 32 or 64 bit

    Did you try removeing it in device manager and rebooting?
     
  10. clempen

    clempen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Still won't connect to internet. The icon in the system tray indicants a connection but when I click on Repair I get a error message that reads 'TCP/IP is not enabled for this connection. What does that rmean?
     
  11. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    Has it reloaded the drivers? . . What does Device Manager report?

    Try this:

    Disconnect the usb modem and restart . . shut down and restart again, then plug the modem in an see if it loads drivers and creates a new netwrok connection
     
  12. clempen

    clempen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    I did all that, still no connection. Would you be interested in a remote connection then you could se for yourself?
     
  13. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    Can't do that if you do not have an nternet connection . . when you right click on the Network Connection and select Properties is TCP/IP listed?
     
  14. clempen

    clempen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    ln the Network Connections window there are three icons, one is 1394, another is Local Area Connectioner & the third is Network Bridge. Only the Network Bridge has Internet Protocal (TCP/IP) & a bunch of other stuff. The box beside the Network Bridge has a checkmark in it, but there is a tiny gold lock on the Network Bridge icon.
     
  15. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    Is ths a dialup Modem? Have you run the setup a new connection wizard?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/920402

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice