cant connect to net

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

helpless2011

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
2
i have a gateway solo 5300...did a clean install of XPpro and have yet to start my updates due to being unable to connect to the internet..im unsure if it has a wireless card or where to even look for it as im still new to laptops...when i open the network connections tab it shows nothing..i have connected an ethernet plug and still no connection... i was thinking maybe i need drivers or sosmething that XP didnt provide. i opened computer management/device manager/show hidden and the only issue i see is 1 red x for (NT Apm/legacy interface node) i have no clue what that is... i really wanna get back on the info super highway.....can someone please help an unfortunate noob : (
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
i was thinking maybe i need drivers or sosmething that XP didnt provide
correct

can we see a screen shot of the device manager

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Device Manager
Post back the results in device manager
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

windows key and pause Key should open to allow device manager to be seen on laptops may need to use windows key + FN key + Pause Key
if not then

Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
windows 7
start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
are there any ! ? or X


post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
------------------------------------------------------------------------


this info may help in future
http://support.gateway.com/s/manlib/Notebooks/Solo5300/8508144/8508144.htm
only shows a Ethernet LAN connection and no wireless

we may need to use the following to identify the Ethernet adapter
right click on the device with a yellow!
Properties
Click on the Details Tab
Under Property - drop down
Select hardware ids
Right click and select all.
Then right click again and select copy.
Copy and paste that here.

The Hardware ID's. VEN & DEV. Look them up here.
http://www.pcidatabase.com/

Drivers are here - but i cannot see the LAN
http://support.gateway.com/support/drivers/search.asp?st=pn&param=3500728
do you have any other model number
http://support.gateway.com/product/?cmpid=topnav
 

helpless2011

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
2
no screenshot sorry.. when i open the device manager the only ? ! or x i see is in NT Apm/legacy supportand is called NT Apm/legacy interface node.....no error icons on anything under network adapters....but this is what it shows under NETWORK ADAPTERS

Direct Parallel
WAN Miniport (IP)
WAN miniport (IP) - packet scheduler miniport
WAN miniport (L2TP)
WAN miniport (PPPOE)
WAN miniport (PPTP)

also under MODEMS i see

Lucent Win Modem (i dont know if this info is of any help) but no error icons here either.

i did follow the link you posted for specs and also didnt see anything about wireless cards.
i also followed the link you posted for drivers and yea...nothing about LAN.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
no lan on that list
where did the laptop come from
do you actually have a LAN connection on it at all ?

have a look in the bios /setup - you can sometimes disable network there
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top