1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't connect to the internet via my wifi card

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by jdaley, May 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jdaley

    jdaley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    I am using Windows XP Pro with a TRENDnet wireless card in my laptop. I can connect to the wireless AP but then I am unable to connect to the internet with either Netscape or Explorer. Is my wireless card suppose to have its own IP address? I can't find one for it, if so. It use to work but think that adding SP2 may have changed a setting. I've pulled out all my hair by now, so please help!!
    John :confused:
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,109
    First Name:
    Terry
    Yes, you need an IP address. If the wireless AP assigns IP addresses (DHCP server enabled) your TCP/IP properties should be set to Obtain IP address automatically and likewise for DNS. One, of several, ways to check your IP is to click once on the connection in Network Connections, and look in Details in the lower left part of the window.

    What do you mean by "unable to connect with either [browser]"?
     
  3. jdaley

    jdaley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    When I try to get on line , neither browser will go online. They both will ask for a dialup number to connect if I've selected the option to check network first, Even if I select never connect via dialup, they wouldn't go online. That is what makes me think that I am not getting or having an IP address assigned and thus no internet??
     
  4. JPar

    JPar

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    In IE, right click the icon and go to properties, then the connections tab. Select "Never dial a connection."

    You may not have the wireless card configured right. Go to a command prompt and type in ipconfig -all and see what the settings for that adapter are....
     
  5. jdaley

    jdaley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    :) I've solved the problem!! Somewhere along the way, I had created a network bridge betwween my wireless & LAN. Removing each from the bridge solved it!! Using IPCONFIG/ALL I noted that my wireless card wasn't there but was after cancelling the bridge. Thanks for everyone's help :) . John
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/361479

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice