1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cant connect to wifi access after got zeroaccess virus

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by chris0147, Apr 1, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. chris0147

    chris0147 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Hi all,

    I need some help with my sister's computer, she had a really nasty virus called ZeroAccess reparse point/junction. She had the virus when she was watching the video by the ads pop up, it had shut down her computer and it had made her computer to run really slow when she ran in a normal mode on windows xp, so I had to get rid of these nasty viruses by running the software on safe mode. The software I ran it called hitmanpro, roguekiller, kaspersky tdskiller, Malwarebytes Anti-malware and combofix and rkill.

    I think the software did really helping her alot to get rid of these nasty viruses, but now she couldn't be able to connect to wifi access as it has been locked up. I'm not sure if the software has got rid of the viruses properly.


    Do you know how she can connect to the wifi access after she had zeroaccess reparse point/junction virus?

    Can you please give me an instruction what I would need to do and how to fix the wifi access?


    Thanks in advance
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,995
    First Name:
    Terry
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.


    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    [Press ENTER after each command.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. chris0147

    chris0147 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Here it is:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Anna.ANNA-NVE9AIGXDU>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : anna-nve9aigxdu
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : SiS 900-Based PCI Fast Ethernet Adap
    ter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-58-1C-D9-02

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Belkin Wireless G Plus MIMO USB Netw
    ork Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-17-3F-74-4A-AD

    C:\Documents and Settings\Anna.ANNA-NVE9AIGXDU>
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,995
    First Name:
    Terry
    Does it connect successfully by ethernet?

    Is the wireless network detected? If so, exactly what happens when you try to connect?
     
  5. chris0147

    chris0147 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Yes, it did connect to the wireless successfully.

    The wireless network are detected, but I can't connect. It won't let me to connect to the wireless network. I am not sure why, can you help?
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,995
    First Name:
    Terry
    Did you intend to say "ethernet"?

    Delete the wireless profile for your network. What exactly happens when you try to connect?
     
  7. chris0147

    chris0147 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    yes, I'm trying to connect wireless adapter to the ethernet, but it fails.

    I can't delete the wireless profile, because it doesn't have the wireless profile. My sister only use belkin wireless application to connect to the ethernet by using wireless adapter. I tried to uninstall, but it won't let me.

    I reckon that the virus could probably have disabled it.

    Can you please tell me what I would need to do?

    Here is the screenshot:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,995
    First Name:
    Terry
    I have no idea what you mean by that.

    From those two screen shots I get the idea that maybe you have multiple wireless utilities running. If you do, they will conflict and you can get all kinds of random and strange problems.
     
  9. chris0147

    chris0147 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Hi guys,

    I need your help, my sister had viruses on her computer. I had to get rid of the nasty virus called "ZeroAccess reparse point/junction" by running these software hitman pro, roguekiller, kaspersky tdskiller, Malwarebytes Anti-malware and combofix and rkill. It did got rid it where it was slowing the computer down, so it is running alot better when I got rid of these nasty viruses. My sister tried to connect to wireless adapter, but it won't let her to connect it.

    Here is the screenshot:

    [​IMG]




    I have tried these following settings:

    or the connection try these...

    Please click Start > Run, type inetcpl.cpl in the runbox and press enter.
    Click the Connections tab and click the LAN settings option.
    Verify if "Use a proxy..." is checked, if so, UNcheck it and click OK/OK to exit.
    Now check if the internet is working again.

    OR

    Go to Start ... Run and type in cmd
    A dos Window will appear.
    Type in the dos window: netsh winsock reset
    Click on the enter key.

    Reboot your system to complete the process.

    If needed : type these one line at a time, press enter after each line. See if it works after each.


    netsh interface ipv4 reset
    netsh interface ipv6 reset
    ipconfig /flushdns




    When I tried these, it won't let me to connect to the wireless adapter. I tried to uninstall, but it won't let me.

    Does anyone know why?

    any advice would be much appreciated

    Thanks in advance
     
  10. Golden_

    Golden_

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    364
    Run the troubleshooter and note down the problem the troubleshooter finds. Then post it here again so we can assist you further on addressing those problems if possible.

    Though according to that image, it seems the computer is not connected to the router. So you could also try and using a wired connection to test it out.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,995
    First Name:
    Terry
    I merged your threads here. Please do not start multiple threads on the same topic.
     
  12. chris0147

    chris0147 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Sorry for the delay guys, I has been very busy. However, my sister still have got a problem with her wifi. She cannot connect to wifi.

    Here is the screenshot:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    When I ran on cmd > ipconfig > all, i have some details for the drivers that are missing. Do you know why and how to fix it?
     
  13. Golden_

    Golden_

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    364
    It seems like the wireless is somehow disabled, or like you said the drivers is missing.

    Is the 'ipconfig /all' command not displaying any adapter at all?
    If this is a case of missing drivers, then you should visit the website of the computer's wireless adapter's manufacturer so you could download the drivers from there. But assuming you cannot access the internet at all even with Ethernet cable, try doing a system restore instead to a previous date before this occurrence.

    Also try and confirm the adapter is enabled by going to:
    Start > Run > type in 'ncpa.cpl' > Check to see and make sure the wireless adapter is enabled. Afterwards right-click it > Properties >
     
  14. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    A Zero Access Rootkit infection can do damage to your systems services so it would be worthwhile running some scans to make quite sure the infection has been fully removed and to check for any damaged services. With XP no longer supported by Microsoft this is the kind of thing that is going to happen unless you upgrade to Windows 7 or 8.

    We will do are best to clean the PC but I would highly recommend you do not log in to any financial sites, like your bank, or make any online purchases until we are sure the system is clean. You should change any passwords used to log in to financial institutions on a clean PC.

    Please run Rkill again and post the log produced.

    Then run this scan below and post both of the logs produced.

    I will have this moved to the Malware forum while we carry out checks for Malware.

    Please download Farbar Recovery Scan Tool (FRST) and save it to your desktop. Do not get tempted to download Regclean Pro.

    Note: If you get a warning that the download could harm your system, please ignore it and allow the download to go ahead. FRST is perfectly safe and we would never ask you to download anything that isn't.

    Note: You need to run the version compatible with your system. If you are not sure which version applies to your system download both of them and try to run them. Only one of them will run on your system, that will be the right version.

    • Double-click on FRST to run it. When the tool opens click Yes to the disclaimer.
    • Press the Scan button.
    • It will make a log (FRST.txt) in the same directory the tool is run from. Please copy and paste it into your next reply.
    • The first time the tool is run, it makes another log (Addition.txt). Please also copy and paste that into your reply.
     
  15. chris0147

    chris0147 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Well I have tried it alot of times to uninstall and windows have picked up the driver. How I can get rid it so i will re-install it again?

    Did you see the screenshot of the cmd that I did not get the details for the ip configuration?

    do you know how i can fix the ip configuration to allow me to get the details?

    I can't do system restore to go back because there are no date in the system restore that i could go back and i had viruses so i got rid it.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1123249

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice