1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't connect to wifi

Discussion in 'Networking' started by vergil, Jul 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. vergil

    vergil Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    I have a desktop and two laptops in my room, as well as two other laptops in the house used by family members. The other week I bought us a new Netgear N300 Wireless Router to replace a old Linksys Wireless-G Broadband Router. When setting up the new router I was able to connect the desktop and every single laptop in the house except for one.

    The laptop of mine that can connect is an ASUS G73jh. The laptop that can not connect is an old HP Pavilion dv7. Prior to the router change, bot the ASUS and HP connected perfectly. After the switch, when trying to connect with the dv7, I receive the following issue:

    My dv7 does detect every local wifi signal, and I both connected and entered the WPA2 password. It is currently connected to the wifi signal, but I do not have internet access. The status of the signal reads "Unidentified network (my SSID)".

    I tried running Windows Network Diagnostics, but the results are: "A problem with your network router or broadband modem might be preventing an Internet connection.". When I try to automatically get a new IP, it just comes up with the above response. I have tried running ipconfig /renew but the only response is that my laptop is "unable to contact your DHCP server". I have tried a few DHCP fixes, but I don't really know what I'm doing or if that's what the problem is. I checked and made sure that my router has DHCP enabled as well.

    I have tried power cycling my router as well. I just can't seem to identify what is preventing me from connecting.

    Thank you in advance.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    The old laptop's wireless card is probably not compatible with the new router. Is the new router an N type? That will be too fast to work with an older G type wireless card.
     
  4. vergil

    vergil Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Yes it is.

    That's exactly what I thought it was going to be, but my friend had mentioned that it wasn't the case, saying my laptop probably isn't old enough. But that seems to be the problem I guess. There's no way I can fix this without replacing the wireless card or plugging it in via ethernet?
     
  5. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Wait for one of the experts to come along. Mark1956 may claim to have "Advanced" experience, but I can guarantee that the problem is not an incompatibility in hardware between your computer and your router.
     
  6. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    I apologise, I jumped to the wrong conclusion and have since found that N type routers are backwards compatible with G type wireless cards. I admit my experience is not advanced in this area of computing but always trying to learn more. I'll be interested to see what the problem turns out to be.
     
  7. vergil

    vergil Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    No worries man, I appreciate the effort.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    74,486
    Mark may not have expressed it exactly right, but he may be on the right track. :)

    Do you have the latest driver for the wireless adapter (from HP's web site if the adapter is integrated)? I inferred from one of your statements that you are using WPA2 encryption. Is the wireless adapter WPA2 capable? If not, you may have to use WPA/WPA(2) or WPA encryption.

    Regardless, have you made sure you are not using MAC Address filtering on the router? Tried to connect with encryption turned off?
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1006398