1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

cant connect to wifi

Discussion in 'Networking' started by PrancerTran, Mar 29, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. PrancerTran

    PrancerTran Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    284
    cant connect o wifi

    entering the correct pass key

    still cant connect

    when connected with an internet wire from the router, works fine

    but unable to connect wireless

    pls help

    let me know what info you'd require

    thanks
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    74,695
    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page (don't collapse the Radar, Connection or Signal History) of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. If you need help with that see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows 8 or 7 or Vista I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.

    Identify your network if it is not obvious.

    Also show ...

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  4. PrancerTran

    PrancerTran Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    284
    i have enabled it. this is all that is happening since 15 mins
    its showing N/A everywhere

    http://i1194.photobucket.com/albums/aa370/iNdiSoULofficial/Picture1-3_zps473cf40f.png

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Praneet>ipconfig.all
    'ipconfig.all' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Users\Praneet>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Praneet-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 64-27-37-D9-1F-7B
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11n Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 64-27-37-D9-1F-7B
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 24-B6-FD-29-4C-93
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::e4df:a758:7a3f:9268%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, March 30, 2013 4:56:31 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, March 31, 2013 4:56:31 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 287618813
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-29-62-76-24-B6-FD-29-4C-93

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{D5C22F1F-0B98-4A03-A54C-26552E82FFB0}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{0C97970C-48C6-4EAF-B00E-324C5FDC56B1}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:c8c:1b48:3f57:fefd(Prefe
    rred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c8c:1b48:3f57:fefd%18(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{9C8673A2-0774-46BA-AA46-30C19F90B5C3}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    74,695
    Is the wireless switched on?

    How/where are you entering the "pass key" (I'm assuming you mean the wireless network's encryption key) when you don't detect any networks?
     
  6. PrancerTran

    PrancerTran Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    284
    wireless is on

    getting detected also

    yes, the network's encryption key. i think same as the router's pass key? to connect to the network

    there isnt any instance where i dont detect a network because all my computers are connected by lan wires coming from the router. the main internet wire from the isp is connected to the router as well

    i am not using wireless because it never accepts the passoword. hence i have connect all the computers by wires
     
  7. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,862
    What TerryNet means is that Xirrus is not showing a working wireless adapter on the computer.
    If the wireless adapter is working, Xirrus should show the adapter's name (inside the red box) and any wireless networks in the area.
    If the adapter is connected to a network, details for that connection will be shown (inside the black box).

    See the screencshot of my working adapter below.


    Your ipconfig /all shows a Broadcom 802.11n Network Adapter that Xirrus doesn't see.
    This suggests that the adapter is installed; but not turned on (enabled), there may be something wrong with the drivers for it, it is blocked by your firewall..

    Xirrus showing an adapter, but no networks, would suggest that the radio on the router was not turned on.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. PrancerTran

    PrancerTran Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    284
    when i search for wi fi networks, it shows all of them around..

    but i will check with the drivers and upgrade and reinstall them to check this again.
     
  9. PrancerTran

    PrancerTran Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    284
    but this is not the issue only with my laptop

    even my phone detects the wifi but the pass key is never accepted
     
  10. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,862
    Has any computer been able to connect wireless to the router?

    Other things that could be causing a problem.
    Encryption incompatibility. When it first came out, some Win7 installations had problems working with WEP encryption and many older adapters need driver updates to work with WPA2.
    Firewall or A/V settings on the computer.

    Just saw your post about the phone not connecting. Make sure you are using the wireless passkey and not the GUI password. Also, someone may have changed the passkey from the default listed on the router.

    One thing you could try.
    Turn encryption off on the router.
    Disconnect the ethernet cable from the router to the computer.
    Then turn off your firewall and A/V on the computer.
    Open Connect to a Network by clicking the network wireless icon in the notification area.
    In the list of available wireless networks, click your network, and then click Connect.

    If this works, turn on A/V and firewall on the computer and see if it still works.

    Reset the encryption on the router and try connecting again
     
  11. PrancerTran

    PrancerTran Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    284
    no computers or devices were able to connect to the router

    the passkey has not been changed

    [​IMG]
     
  12. PrancerTran

    PrancerTran Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    284
    my connection is the first one above..

    will try the other suggestions now
     
  13. PrancerTran

    PrancerTran Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    284
    [​IMG]

    getting this after trying the windows troubleshooter
     
  14. PrancerTran

    PrancerTran Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    284
    tried the above suggestion

    turned off encryption, firewall

    disconnected the cable

    changed pass key and tried all over again

    not working still..
     
  15. PrancerTran

    PrancerTran Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    284
    ok, managed to get it working now

    resetted the router

    and did the setup all over again

    thats all..

    thanks a lot for all the help.. you guys are wonderful
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1094631