1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't connect to Wireless network, others can

Discussion in 'Networking' started by gregchandl, Feb 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gregchandl

    gregchandl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    We have a small office network... 2 wired desktops and 3 wireless laptops. My laptop
    was working fine, I took it home over the weekend and it connected to home network
    just fine, then brought it in and it will not connect. All the other computers are working fine on the network. I've tried all I know to do, as limited as that is.
    - I have made sure the key is correct and all the settings are correct.
    - I have tried "repairing" the wireless network in the "Network Connections" window...
    this will make the Internet Gateway appear for about a minute and I can get on the
    internet, but then it goes away and says "not able to connect to any of your preferred
    networks"
    - tried to "ping" ip address and it says "destination host unavailable"
    - reset TCP/IP settings using "netsh winsock reset" and this worked... for about 2 minutes... then I was off the network and back to square 1
    - While I was connected I was able to successfully ping 192.168.1.1 which I believe is the correct ip address... was also able to successfully ping 205.152.0.20 which I believe is the DNS server... keep in mind I really don't know what that tells me, but it must be better than "destination host unavailable"

    We have a DSL connection with Linksys BEFW11S4 router.
    My laptop has an IPN2220 wireless LAN card.

    Can anyone help? I have been looking through other similar posts and tried some of the advice, but I am stuck... and annoyed!
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,891
    First Name:
    Wayne
    try and ping google.com

    also post an ipconfig /all here

    ipconfig /all

    TWO Methods to do that - some people have problems with ONE----

    ONE ---------------------------------
    start
    run
    cmd
    ipconfig /all

    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    TWO -----------------------------------------------

    Start, Run, CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

    Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.
     
  3. gregchandl

    gregchandl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Here's the results of the ipconfig/all:

    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : acer-c6bac00326

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-C0-9F-73-92-67

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : acer IPN2220 Wireless LAN Card

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0E-9B-7C-EB-E4


    When I plugged in the ethernet cable (I'm able to connect with no problem... it is only the wireless that gives me troubles), these were the results I got from the ipconfig /all:

    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : acer-c6bac00326

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-C0-9F-73-92-67

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.123

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 205.152.37.23

    205.152.144.23

    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 15, 2007 8:23:16 AM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, February 16, 2007 8:23:16 AM

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : acer IPN2220 Wireless LAN Card

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0E-9B-7C-EB-E4

    When I tried to ping google.com and www.google.com, it said
    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check name and try again.

    When I pinged google.com with ethernet cable in...

    Pinging google.com [64.233.187.99] with 32 bytes of data:


    Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=55ms TTL=235

    Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=56ms TTL=236

    Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=54ms TTL=236

    Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=54ms TTL=235

    Ping statistics for 64.233.187.99:

    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:

    Minimum = 54ms, Maximum = 56ms, Average = 54ms



    Does this help diagnose the problem?
    Thanks for your help
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    In your ipconfig /all the wireless was "Media disconnected," meaning the connection was disabled or there was no network to which it could connect.

    But the thing that is really confusing is that you DO get a successful connection for a minute or or two, and then it goes away with "not able to connect to any of your preferred
    networks."

    I can't think of what could cause this symptom other than adapter failure or wireless interference that doesn't bother the other computers and didn't previously bother yours.

    I've had a couple similar inexplicable problems recently; both times the "fix" was a System Restore to when I knew the wireless was working properly. Wouldn't hurt to try that, since you can always undo the Restore.

    The ping results, as it turns out, just confirms what you said about connection and no connection.
     
  5. gregchandl

    gregchandl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    I know... it says "Media Disconnected" but when I search for available networks, my network shows up with strong signal strength... I just can't get on it. I'll try to figure out how to do the system restore and see what happens.
     
  6. gregchandl

    gregchandl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Tried System Restore back a couple months to a known time when it was working properly and no change... any other ideas?
     
  7. LearningIT

    LearningIT

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    I would check to see if there are any updated drivers or firmware for your wireless card.
     
  8. LearningIT

    LearningIT

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    One more thing to check is if they are using mac filtering on that wireless network. Your mac address may not have access.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    Make sure that your adapter's utility and Windows XP's WZC are not both running, as they can conflict. WZC runs as a service; Control Panel - Administrative Tools - Services - scroll down to Wireless Zero Configuration.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/544035

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice