1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't connect to wireless network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by srvblues, Jun 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. srvblues

    srvblues Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Hi guys, I'm having problems connecting to our wireless network. I'm not very good at the technical stuff so I'll try my best to provide as much info as possible on the situation so please bare with me and ask if you need anything else (which I'm sure you will).

    With my old PC in the same room in the house I've had it connected before, about a year ago. With my new computer though, I'm having issue after issue.

    The router is a Linksys Cisco model # WAG120N.

    The Wireless adapter is an ASUS USB-N13 (802.11n)

    Both PCs have Windows XP SP2.

    It seems to get stuck on "Acquiring network address" and won't get past that. Thinking it might have had something to do with the IP address I tried this with no avail:

    http://www.wikihow.com/Change-your-IP-Address-(Windows)

    When I click "Repair" it doesn't go past renewing IP address.

    I've seen many similar situations while googling but nothing has worked for me. It's probably something simple (well I hope anyway!!)

    Here is the IPCONFIG log:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
    C:\Documents and Settings\Gamer 1>ipconfig
    Windows IP Configuration

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    C:\Documents and Settings\Gamer 1>ipconfig /all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : hpone-9d43fc224
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-17-A4-1E-1A-70
    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : ASUS 802.11n Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 20-CF-30-A2-0F-79
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255


    I've also taken a screenshot that may be of some help. Worth a shot.

    This is all I can think of to share. Please let me know if I need anything else (and simple steps on doing it would be a plus since I'm a newbie).

    I could also record a small video of what's going on if needed. Just ask.

    Thanks for reading. Fingers crossed!

    Paul
     

    Attached Files:

  2. AA1TECH

    AA1TECH

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Windows has a nasty habit of not showing exactly where it is stuck, the "Acquiring network address" in my experience usually means its stuck during authentication. Older NIC cards/computes used TKIP as the default on WPA, WPA2 connections, newer ones use AES. Most routers say they support both and will automatically adjust, but I have not seen that much. Try changing your connection settings to use the alternate encryption and see if your connect problems go away. If all else fails, drop to an open network on your router, ensure the laptop is ok, then put it back piece by piece.
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Why is a "new computer" running XP SP2?????? That hasn't been supported for almost two years.
     
  4. srvblues

    srvblues Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    By new I mean it's replaced my old one, got it a few weeks ago. Second hand.

    AA1TECH we've tried alternative encryptions and changed the router to an open network but still a no go.

    Any thoughts?
     
  5. AA1TECH

    AA1TECH

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    OK, well if it were in my shop, I would first ensure the latest Asus drivers are installed for XP, and also upgrade to Service Pack 3 for XP (basically to make sure the USB drivers are current). Also, what model laptop is this? Asus also has some nice utilities that may assist, if your not already using them. They can be installed from the link above.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1058566